Insecure Writers Support Group: NaNo Is Upon Us!

wp-1462383471325.jpgThis is my monthly post as part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, a great group of supportive writers, helping one another through our writing ups-and-downs.

There is also a great Facebook Community for more daily connection!  More posts from the group are tagged on Twitter at #IWSG.

 

 

Whelp.  It’s here.  Today is the start of NaNoWriMo!  And, I actually have taken the day off of work!!  Some of that’s for the purpose of writing, some of it because I wanted to attend the Midnight Kick-Off Write-In in my area (and there is no way I can do such things and get up at 5:30 to get ready for work), and some of it is so I could get some errands done.

I’m mostly just excited about NaNo this year.  My local region is pretty active – with a number of write-ins planned each week, and a few larger events scattered about. Added bonus that they’re all happening at places I can actually get to! Since I only have occasional use of a car, being able to get to things via public transit is a HUGE bonus.

This is my attempt to jump back into fiction writing, after a years hiatus.  I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get some good (and, sure, some bad) writing done and will get my creative juices flowing again.  Because, there’s a part of me that does want to step back into editing and rewriting the WIP that I had to put on the shelf last year.

That WIP actually started as a NaNo project.  And then got worked on again for NaNo another year. It’s the only NaNo (so far) that’s turned into a completed story (well, so far as being a full story with an ending and all).  But I fully expect that others will eventually get there. NaNo, for me, is usually much more about getting ideas on the page – a free-flow of story that often ends up being pulled apart and turned into multiple story seeds.

I’ve participated in NaNo 9 years, starting in 2006. I’ve “won” 4 of those. This year I’m hoping to win again, but know that I’ll win just by getting words on the page.  I am going to try to write every day (but know that there will probably be days where my writing consists of a few sentences). But that doesn’t matter.  What matters is that I’m writing.  That my words are finding their way onto a page at some point or another, and I’m opening up those windows and doors in my mind to let the ideas find their way in.

Are you NaNo’ing this year?  If you are, what is the thing you hope to get out of it?

NaNo-2017-Participant-Facebook-Cover

3 thoughts on “Insecure Writers Support Group: NaNo Is Upon Us!”

  1. Hi, Alli. I’m not doing NaNo this year, as I’m deep into revising a manuscript that I’m determined to sell or publish. I’m with you, though, on how useful NaNo is for that phase of writing when we’re just pouring ideas onto the page. It’s good to have that community support and mutual cheerleading–especially if our IRL crew is made up of non-writers.

    Like

What do you think?

