Weekend Coffee Share: Weddings and Memorials

Since we’re imagining coffee together I’m also going to imagine a location. Because I’d love to be taking coffee with you on a sun-porch, looking out at the leaves starting to turn colors. I love the fall. Everywhere I’ve lived I’ve gotten to enjoy the moment of gifts where the trees provide spectacular colors as the leaves die and drop, making way for new growth in the spring. Those days where there’s a crispness in the air, but the sun is shining… I love them. Today I’m particularly wishing I could go for a nice stroll through a hidden away country path, hearing the leaves crunch under my feet. There’s this one trail I’m thinking of, really just a faint shadow of a memory, that ran near my undergrad campus. I haven’t stepped foot on that train for over ten years, but I still find myself drawing back to it (and wishing I had walked it far more when I was there). That’s the kind of mood I’m in this morning, steeped in the quiet of fall and the air of memory. I’d love to hear some of your favorite fall memories — what has the season been like where you have lived?

800px-Vermont_fall_foliage_hogback_mountain
Vermont Fall Foliage (courtesty chensiyuan, via Wikepedia)

The weekends activities may be contributing to this feeling a bit. I have two events going on, Saturday afternoon I’m working a vendor table at a Wedding Showcase. I’m excited, I’ve never worked (or attended) anything like this and think it should be fun. Added bonus, one of my friends (very) recently got engaged and is going to be attending with a few of our other friends – so I’ll get to see them too! I’m anticipating a combination of excitement and stress from the people attending, and hoping it’s a productive (and, yes, lucrative – both in the fiscal and the potential new contacts way) time! Sunday afternoon I’m attending the memorial service for an older woman who attended the congregation I grew up in. I didn’t know her super-well, but have a few memories of her – she and her husband owned this amazing house which had a swimming pool in the back yard, and for a number of summers they’d offer use of their pool in the church auction. My family got it at least once, and it was a pretty magical time. They also hosted a number of parties and celebrations, and we attended a few of those. It will be nice to see some of the people who go to the memorial, and to hear more about the life of this pretty awesome woman. That’s my weekend plans, what are you up to? I’d love to hear! Weekend Coffee share is a blog-hop that’s been around for a while, being hosted at different sites – and now I’m going to take up the mantle.

I’m having trouble getting the Linky list to work correctly- so feel free to add a link to your post in the comments below – and try to find some time to visit others!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Weddings and Memorials”

What do you think?

