Weekend Coffee Share: In which I attempt to return… again…

I can’t tell you how many half-finished Weekend Coffee Share posts I have sitting around. Seriously, it’s been too long. I feel like I need to give this blog a good summer-cleaning. There are is no way I don’t have cobwebs gathering around the corners.

So, let’s try this. Let’s start up again nice and slow, with a casual coffee chat. Now hosted, once again, by Part Time Monster (after a lovely interlude at Nerd In the Brain‘s). Since it’s so nice here, let’s settle on the front patio – the garden that my brother spends a lot of time playing in is blooming quite nicely.

Before I launch into my saga, I’d love to hear what you’re up to. How have things been going for you over these past… months? Has it been months? Are you having a good summer? Any exciting plans for the time that remains of it?

I’m really looking forward to next weekend – I’ll be going to visit my niece for the first time! She’s about 7 weeks old now, and just adorable. I can’t wait to get to hang out with her and my sister and brother-in-law for the weekend! There are some other fun things happening with the remainder of the summer, but I’ll tell you all about those as they get closer.

So, where have I been? Right here, for the most part. I did spend some time in Salt Lake City for a Jamberry conference (which was pretty fun). But otherwise I’ve just been here. Going to work, coming home, trying to stay awake long enough to do a little Jamberry work. Come the weekends it varies just a little, more Jamberry work, a bit of socializing, more sleeping. Repeat.

My health has been all over the place, and it’s been taking a fair amount of my energy. Some of it has just been that whatever is going on with me takes my energy. I’m tired ALL the time. And some of it is that I am trying new medications, going to visit doctors, and things like that, which also take what energy I do have. I’m excited that we may be making progress on figuring out what’s going on with me, but in the meantime it’s kind of exhausting.

I am hoping to get back into the swing of things though. I miss writing, and need to push myself to get more of it done. I’ve been thinking about it, had snippets of little project idea’s here and there, but I haven’t made any of them happen yet. Some of it, I know, is that I’ve been so tired and busy elsewhere that writing has taken a back-seat to all else. I need to change that. Even fifteen minutes here and there would make a difference. I may even start carrying a notebook again – see if doing some handwritten stuff helps get things going again. I’ll have more about all of that later this week, because I fully intend to get back on the Insecure Writer’s Support Group train again. It’s been far too many months since I participated in that.

While I’m easing myself back in that’s going to be enough. I’m going to try to do SOMETHING for the Coffee Share, and IWSG posts again. And then, hopefully, that will help lead me to more. I’ve done a little reading, and there are certainly posts I want to write about that. I had grand plans for Banned Book Week in September, and would love to keep up with that event.

Enough out of me for now – I’ve got a baby blanket I need to finish crocheting! Hope you have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: In which I attempt to return… again…”

  1. I’m glad you’re back! I know what you mean about health issues: I have fibromyalgia and hypothyroidism. Finding the correct medicine and dosage can be tricky, but in the end can make all the difference. Best of luck to you.

    Like

  2. Welcome back, Alli. A baby blanket, huh?!? – quite a project there. I use to enjoy crocheting and “kniftyknitting”… Lately I haven’t really been able to find the time.

    Like

What do you think?

