Weekend Coffee Share: Getting Some Work Done

If we were having coffee I’d invite you to join me in a local coffee shop. I used to come here when it was under different ownership, and decided to stop by today and see what it was like. I like it, quieter than a lot of places nearby, and the coffee is good, so I could see it becoming a more regular place for me. Wouldn’t it be nice to get myself into a regular habit of getting up, doing a mile walk, resting and writing over coffee, and then heading home again? It’s a real possibility.

I really do need to get myself a laptop though… can’t do much editing without one!

It was a pretty busy week -though not as crazy as I’m used to weeks like this being! I managed to get some editing done a few nights this week – it felt good to get back to it but I also kept running against one of my huge bariers… I don’t have physical images in my mind of that these characters look like. To me that’s an unimportant part of the story, but I know it’s important to get some description on so I do need to figure out what they look like.

I’ve got a pretty major “to-do” list today, but my energy isn’t really behind it. I’d rather spend the day hanging out over coffee and relaxing. And, honestly, I did manage to get a decent amount of hanging out and socialness into the schedule this weekend. Which is probably why the to-do-list is feeling especially pressing this morning.

I suppose I should get on it, but I would love to hear from you about your week first!

Weekend Coffee Share is a weekly chance to check in with our blogging community.  Hop around the internet and enjoy the hospitality of this great community with a casual chat. Started by Part-Time Monster, and now hosted by Nerd In The Brain this is a lovely community and a fun weekly check-in. Check out the link-up, and feel free to join in the fun!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Getting Some Work Done”

  1. A couple of times, for NaNoWriMo, I looked through magazines, tons of them, to find people that might fit the image of my characters. It was kind of fun. I would cut out the ones that appealed for me for whatever reason and glue them on to card stock. Then I would sit and give each one some kind of story, including their important facts like birthday, birth place, siblings, etc. It made it a little easier and sometimes yielded new characters that I had not even thought to put into my story.

    Like

  2. How interesting you have an idea for your characters but not a visual for them… I do know one author uses old photographs or goes through the lovely internets… I’m sure you will come up with the proper ones!
    Enjoy your week!

    Like

What do you think?

