Weekend Coffee Share: Waiting

UPDATE: Saturday Night, 8pm…. Midnight got caught in the trap I set for him and is now home and safe!  So, my imagined coffee share later in this post can be real 🙂
Honestly I don’t even know how to write my coffee share post this morning. I like framing it like we’re sitting down and chatting, but my hope is that the situation is different soon than it is right now. As I write this it’s about 4 am Saturday morning and I am sitting on the ground of my front porch. Waiting and hoping. And it is not the first early morning watch I’ve kept this week..

 But, let me tell you the coffee time I’d like to.be having.

I’d like to say:

If we were having coffee I’d have a Midnight Monster Cat curled up on my legs. He had an adventure this week, but finally decided to come home this morning and now is safe and sound. Last Sunday we tried to go out in a new harness for some fresh air – but he did crazy cat acrobatics, slipped his harness and darted.

I spend the week searching and waiting and hoping. It was a rough week, I kept hoping he’d just come home and he kept not appearing.

I walked the neighborhood a few times,.I searched in yards and distributed flyers. I put his litter box and bed outside as I could (in breaks.from the rain) and I waited.and I worried.

And friends lent support, helped me search, said prayers, gave advice and shared stories of their own pet returns.

It’s been a rough week, and I haven’t slept much.

But Thursday there were two sightings. Both in, or right next to, my yard. Friday morning I put out food for him and it was eaten something between 4:30 and 5:30 am.

So Saturday morning I went out and waited. Quietly sitting and listening and watching.

And now, as we sit together for coffee I hope I am able to say that he has come home.

Weekend Coffee Share is a weekly chance to check in with our blogging community.  Hop around the internet and enjoy the hospitality of this great community with a casual chat. Started by Part-Time Monster, and now hosted by Nerd In The Brain this is a lovely community and a fun weekly check-in. Check out the link-up, and feel free to join in the fun!

19 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Waiting”

  1. I have experienced those cat acrobatics caused by a new harness with my old cat Ryver. It was not great, and he too managed to roll out. I’m sorry to hear your pet did the same. I will be send positive thoughts your way. I am sure he will return home soon.

    Like

  2. What an ordeal!! Missing pets is so distressing. Glad to hear he’s back home and hopefully a bit remorseful. I still remember when my dog went missing over 13 years ago and going round all the shops with his photo. He’d been found by a family who had a local cafe and so he had a great weekend eating leftovers while I fretted. He was back home after the vet opened Monday. Phew!
    Hope you have a better week ahead!
    xx Rowena

    Like

  3. Oh dear. Cats, being cats are so independent. We once lost ours for almost two weeks. Had totally feared the worst as it was fall and well, I’m not going to scare you. Suffice it to say, he came in one day, giving us shit (like it’s our fault he buggered off) meowing and such and didn’t ask for the door for a good two days…

    Like

    1. I was so worried because it was cold, and rainy, out there – and there are coyotes in our area (some of them quite brazen.. damn suburban coyotes).
      But I also realized that he probably wasn’t going to come home on his own – so I set up the trap for him and caught him. Allowing him to hiss and yowl and “save face.” As soon as we were inside though he was cuddling, and purring, and clearly happy to be inside again.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

