Weekend Coffee Share – February 4 2017

We had another ice day this week – Friday turned out not at all like I had planned.  For a while the weather had been predicting that we would have ice on Friday, but then it started to look like things would warm up and we wouldn’t see too much. However, I woke up Friday morning to find ice hanging from the leaves outside my window.  Work was delayed for a few hours and I spent that time resting and getting a few things taken care of (bills…yay…). and headed out to work about two hours before I had to be there. Since I commute by bus and train, and I had no idea if those would be running on time or what my connections would look like I wanted to give myself some extra time – plus my commute normally takes an hour to an hour-and-a-half.  I ended up waiting for the first bus for about 20 minutes.  In the cold rain.

In retrospect I probably should have looked at the schedule for when the bus was supposed to pass by and then at least use that as a guide for when I went to catch the bus.  However, I’m kind of glad I didn’t – because I would have likely made the decision to catch the earlier one which would have put me even further away when the next part of the day happened.

I had on the bus for about two minutes – less than a mile down the road – when I got a text message that work was going to be closed for the rest of the day. So I got off at the next stop, hit the store, and then went to wait for the next bus that would take me back home.

So… I’d already been out, I’d had coffee, and breakfast, and an early lunch. I’d been walking, and moving about and should have probably found the energy to sit down and do some work.  Writing, Jamberry work, blogging, editing, SOMETHING.

And I tried. I really did. I wrote the rewrites of two whole sentences. I created a word document for a project I’m hoping to start on.  I recorded a little video (five minutes, which I’ll probably have to re-do because I’ve changed a few things) for a Jamberry “Party In A Box” that I’m sending out on Monday. It took me about an hour to get all that done because I kept distracting myself with other things. So I decided to call it a wash. I wasn’t going to get any work done on those projects originally, anyhow, today because I would have been at work so….

I spent the rest of the day curled up in bed, with Midnight Monster sleeping on me, as I binge-watched Netflix. It was awesome.

A surprise evening trip to Ikea with a friend resulted in finally getting an actual desk chair for myself (been meaning to get one – my entire body will thank me for better posture here) and a stop by 7-11 to get Slushies (because, random cravings are fun!  I think we all need at least one friend in our lives who will hear you say “You know, I kinda want a Slushie” and will help you procure one).

The weekend is looking pretty busy for me.  Saturday at least.  Today I get to take Midnight Monster to his annual vet-check-up. It’s been about a year, and I’m hoping that he’ll behave himself as far as letting me get him in (and out) of his crate.  Last year it was a bit of an ordeal.  Then Saturday night I’m attending an auction fundraiser that got rescheduled from mid-January due to weather.  Looking forward to it – it should be a fun time!!

Sunday is going to be spent writing and working – I hope I’ll have gathered up enough of my energy to make some real progress by then.

What have you been up to this week?  Any fun or interesting weekend plans?

7 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – February 4 2017”

  1. Dreaded ice days sure do have lots of surprises in store. However, it is a free day to do random things, and things that were waiting, or to do nothing at all. Hope your weekend goes well, as for me I have 2 sick little boys so I’m busy tending to them and the laundry that is a result of it. Great post, thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Talk of ice days is a long way from the heat wave we’re having here. We’ve been away in Tasmania for three weeks where the weather was great…about 25-30 degrees celsius. We’re missing it.
    I love a down day as long as we’re not on holidays. We squeezed every last drop out of our trip and needed another holiday when we got home.
    xx Rowena

    Like

  3. Disruption can be sweet, although the wait in the freezing rain did not seem like a fun way to begin the surprise break. I last drank Shushies in about 1968 when I was fond of Dr Pepper Icees….it would have to be Dr. Pepper for me to go for it…Desk is a lovely gift to yourself. Cheers! Wishing you a warmer week ahead.

    Like

What do you think?

