If We Were Having Coffee… Birthday Weekend!!

If we were having coffee I’d tell you how excited I am about my birthday weekend!

It’s been a strange week – but I’ve been loving it! We had a bit of a delayed start to the week due to ice and grossness. Then, on Tuesday night we got SNOW. Lots and lots of snow (particularly for this area). In about 12 hours we got 9 inches of snow at my house. Some places got over a foot in a 24-hour period.

20170111_102113
The beautiful view of snow-covered… everything… in my neighborhood.

Wednesday was a snow day, and I got to play in the snow and enjoy being inside for much of the day. Thursday was also a snow day, and I took a walk through the snow to buy some needed cat food for the Midnight Monster. Luckily the sidewalk on the road I had to walk had been pretty packed down so it was a fairly pleasant walk.

The temperature stayed cold, so the only melt that’s happening is due to the sun – and then it’s freezing again. Friday I had to venture out to go to work, a delayed start but… it was still just 5 degree’s (Fahrenheit) outside when I left to start my commute.  It was NOT a fun trip – the “sidewalk” on the way to my bus-stop was pretty much non-existent – just a large pile of snow.

 

img_20170113_081253_042
There IS a sidewalk under there, somewhere. But walking on it was NOT fun – and stepping into the bike-lane was not a safe option.

The one great thing about having to venture out on Friday was that I was able to stop by the story to pick up some materials for my BIRTHDAY PARTY! I had to cancel a few of my Birthday Weekend plans because the snow is not moving much (other than turning to ice in some places) so it just isn’t safe to be out and about too much for some of us. The car I have access to can’t get out of the driveway at this point, and I just don’t want to deal with the headache of public transit this weekend!

But enough of my friends are close enough in and are going to be able to make it over so I’m still going to have my Mac-And-Cheese party! I’ll have a few different kinds of Macaroni and Cheese, and folks are bringing their own versions (and trying new kinds with different kinds of cheese). We’ll sample them all (and vote, of course, because we can!)  I don’t often have actual parties for my birthday, and am looking forward to this year and glad that the weather isn’t going to have to stop it from happening.

Today I have to do some prep for the party – looking forward to trying to create some new mac-and-cheese flavors!  Then there’s writing (I am ridiculously behind in my writing), and some Jamberry work…. I’ve managed to fill my empty weekend pretty well!

What do you have planned for the weekend? How is the weather where you are? Have you had a good week?

wp-1475343807867.jpg

 

 

9 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Birthday Weekend!!”

  1. Happy Birthday!!! I’m sure you’ll enjoy your mac and cheese party, sounds like a loft of fun! Nothing much from our end except for some gloomy, rainy weekend. The sun is peeking this Sunday afternoon, though, so we are in for plenty of sunshine this week. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m glad the party wasn’t canceled. Too many things have had to be scrapped because of our weather. I’ve been confined to home pretty much since Monday. Haven’t even gone outside since Thursday.

    Anyway, I hope your birthday weekend had been wonderful! And I hope the anticipated flood this week is kind to your commute.

    Like

What do you think?

