Passionate Geeks: Fairy Tales and Once Upon a Time

Passionate Geeks Ad

Today’s Passionate Geek is Sarah E. Boucher, a lover of fairy stories, romance, anything BBC and Marvel, and really, really cute shoes. On weekdays she wears respectable shoes and serves as Miss Boucher, the Queen of Kindergarten. On school holidays she writes stories about romance and adventure. And wears impractical super cute shoes.  Visit Sarah at SarahEBoucher.com or connect with her on TwitterFacebookInstagramPinterest, Amazon, or Goodreads.


Hi, I’m Sarah and I’m a Fairy Tale Addict.

06-07-16-sarah-b-square-crop-color

Actually it’s worse than that. I’m a 40-year-old woman who believes in magic, happily ever afters, and the power of sassy heels. The only problems I’ve encountered are the following:

  1.  I’m not a princess in a tower with flowing blonde hair and birds for friends. Mostly because birds are creepy and I’m pretty sure they have a vendetta against me. Blech, beady bird eyes . . .
  2. I refuse to while away the time waiting for Prince Charming to carry me off into the sunset. If he had to pack me off on foot, I’d be worried about giving the poor idiot a hernia. And it turns out I’m allergic to horses.

So I guess what I really am is a Fairy Tale Realist who can’t get enough books, movies, and merch.

The series Once Upon a Time grabbed my interest from the beginning. Even so, there’s at least once per episode when my bestie and I give each other that look and say, “Nope.” and “Seriously, what are they thinking?” and “Yeah, I could have written that better.” Because in addition to Hobbitses, Hogwarts, and Han Solo, Hans Christian Anderson is well represented on my shelves. If only to provide evidence to support my arguments.

That clash between reality and fantasy pushes me to create my own brand of Fairy Tale Fan Fiction. I take the characters I’ve loved since girlhood and drop them into interesting situations to watch the squirm. Because there are always new aspects of a personality to explore.

Here I am, publishing my second Young Adult fairy tale and planning the next one. Or two. Or fifteen. That’s what happens when something captures your imagination for the better part of 40 years. You can’t shake the magic.

And hey, I’ll continue to believe in the power of hot shoes too. Because maybe, just maybe, Prince Charming has a thing for redheads in red peep toe pumps.

 

web-only-promo-book-coverSarah’s second book, Midnight sisters is available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions.

What is it about?  Well, how about a blurb and excerpt?

The words rattled around Jonas’s head. What was the punishment again? Death? Dismemberment? Jonas, the newest addition to the gardening staff, couldn’t recall the exact penalty for breaking the rule. What does it matter anyway? He would never dream of meddling with the Earl of Bromhurst’s haughty daughters.

Until he comes face to face with Lady Ariela, the eldest of the Master’s daughters.

Her elusive smile and open manner cause him to question his convictions. In no time, he’s drawn into Lady Ariela’s world of mystery and intrigue, a world where she and her sisters will do anything—including leaving twelve empty beds at midnight—to escape their father’s strict rules.

Only Jonas can uncover the truth and save them from their father’s wrath and their own folly, if he is willing to risk everything he’s ever worked for.

***

“Jonas—”

I could see the words growing in his eyes.

“You know the cardinal rule.”

I wanted to roll my eyes, but kept my expression bland instead. Showing impatience had consequences for an undergardener.

“Do not meddle with the Master’s daughters.”

I had heard the words so many times my ears felt like they would start bleeding. If Higgins knew how pointless it was to fire them at me time and again, he’d save his breath.

“Understood?” Higgins asked with one eyebrow cocked.

The thought of running back to my family became more appealing with every upward slant of that eyebrow. “Yes, sir.”


blog-tour-bannerHer first book, Becoming Beauty, is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Find Becoming Beauty on AmazonBarnes & Noblebooks & thingsiTunes, and Goodreads. For the duration of the blog tour (January 9-20) Becoming Beauty in eBook will be 99 cents!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 

What do you think?

