If We Were Having Coffee… Winter Weather and Busy Days

Hello!

I’m glad you’re joining me for coffee on this foggy and cold day. What would you like?  This morning I’m opting for a mocha with a little Bailey’s added.  I’ve got coffee, tea, cocoa — alcohol added or not. Just let me know!

It’s the kind of day where it’s nice to curl up inside. The fog is hanging heavy and, while it is technically above freezing out there right now, the remaining ice and some of the snow don’t seem to understand that they’re supposed to be melting.  I don’t mind.  I like seeing the patches of winter!

What a week. It was a very busy week at work, and that got complicated by the weather.  We closed early one day, and opened late one day – which means when we were open was even more busy.  And it means that Monday and Tuesday – which are usually pretty slow days for us – are going to be packed.  So I’m trying to get some rest this weekend to be prepared for next week.

The weather was very pretty though.  First I got to enjoy some snow and then there were some neat  icicles. They weren’t anything grand if you are used to winter weather – but we don’t get snow and ice all that often here, so just a little goes a long way!

Ice hanging off a bus shelter
Ice hanging off a bus shelter

In my free time I’ve been working on getting organized for the new year. I have a lot of goals, a lot of projects in the works, and I really want to set myself up for success in the coming year. So the end of 2016 is being spent in putting things into place to help me be able to achieve what I want in the coming year.  I enjoy being able to dedicate some end-of-the-year time to making plans and preparing!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, writing and organizing around this blog. I have a goal to go self-hosted in January, and am lining up some series and guest posters!  I am still looking for people who would like to contribute to Passionate Geeks or The Power of Art series – just let me know if you’re interested!  I’d love to have the year scheduled out! I’d also love to get some guest posts on the Hate Will Not Win theme!

This month I’m also starting a new monthly series — the last Wednesday of the month I have a guest author sharing their thoughts, opinions, and reflections on their craft. These will be generally theme-focused and I’m really excited about our first guest author!

Outside of the blog-sphere I’ve been doing a lot on Facebook and Twitter. I’m heading up a group (which I’ll talk about more in my Monday Updates because it’s something that you all can do too) which I feel really good about.

I set up a few of my holiday decorations this week – I’m introducing them slowly since I’m not sure just what Midnight Monster will tolerate and what he will try to destroy.  I’ve got my one-room suite that I can decorate however I wish, and the rest of the house will be getting decorated soon (we’ve been dealing with a dog who has bronchitis, so introducing allergens into the common spaces of the house has been put on hold).  I did bring in the living Christmas Tree that my youngest brother gave me as a present last year. It’s kind of thin, so I wrapped it up with some lights and am going to see if I have a few small ornaments to hang on it!

Midnight Monster investigating the Christmas Tree.
Midnight Monster investigating the Christmas Tree.

A few weeks ago I created a perch for Midnight Monster (via stacked tables) and he really loves it, but it’s much larger than he needs so I’ve co-opted a piece of that perch for the tree.  Luckily it’s a prickly kind of tree so after some initial investigation he’s pretty much left it alone.

What I’m most excited about in the coming week, though, is that I’m going to see George Takei’s Allegiance in the theater on Tuesday! A few friends of mine and I are going together and I absolutely can’t wait. Wednesday may well see a double-Passionate-Geek post as I have someone lined up, but have a feeling I’ll be wanting to share about what I’ve just seen as well.

How has your week been?  Is there anything coming up that you’re really looking forward to?

7 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Winter Weather and Busy Days”

  1. Baileys for me, thank you 😊 those icicles are gorgeous, then again, I can appreciate them in a different way since we don’t get winter weather here in So Cal! I loved icicles growing up. So beautiful, dangerous, but beautiful! As soon as I finish my coffee, I’m going to check out those series you mentioned . . . Stay warm 🌨

    Like

  2. That’s an adorable picture of the cat sniffing the tree! 😊 Sounds like you are busy busy! I really like the idea of organization planning, it’s something I really need to do myself. I hope you find an awesome system that works for you!

    Like

  3. I can never get myself to have anything alcoholic before dinner time. As much as I have wanted to put a dash of Kahlua or Bailey’s in my coffee, I can’t ever do it.

    The rain finally stopped here about noon but it looks like it’s about to start up again. It was nice to have a short break in the deluge.

    Like

  4. I will absolutely take some cocoa with Bailey’s! I’m glad that your cat has decided to leave the tree alone. Our kitten has climbed all the way to the top of our 6 ft tree and we can’t keep her out of it!

    Like

  5. Hey, I wonder if I could have Baileys in my coffee for breakfast? Sounds great. I hadn’ thought of adding Bailey’s to my coffee. That makes me sound like a serious alco but a rarely drink. The end of the year always seems to get to the kids and they’re both home from school today. One sick and the other forgot to hand his note in for an excursion.
    I really loved your icicle shot. It’s hot Summer here now so a bit of that ice would be great!
    I like the sound of guest blogging for you in the New Year.
    I also need to set some goals. I’ve been making great progress on my Paris memoir and have also written a few poems and stories as well. I don’t know if these spin-offs counts as distractions or are part of the whole but I’m following them through and finding out just how dark things can get in your own head beside the River Seine in the middle of the night.
    Hope you have a great week.
    xx Rowena

    Like

What do you think?

