IWSG – What I Write.. and where am I going?

Since last month’s  Insecure Writer’s Support Group post I’ve had a lot happen in my life and have seen my writing take an interesting turn. I still love to write fiction — and currently have a short-story I am editing for inclusion in an anthology — but I am finding much more of my writing lately to be of the non-fiction sort.  And I kind of love it.

I mean, I don’t love the reasons that I am doing so much non-fiction work, but I have found myself falling easily into writing about the political and social situations in the world right now. I’m being able to explore a few different kinds of writing that I enjoy – and it makes me feel more complete.

I haven’t had insecurities in my writing this past month – I think in large part because I feel like I’ve taken one of those stumbles again. Hit one of those moments that  should set you back, give you pause, but instead bring you a renewed sense of purpose and help ease you back onto the path you’re meant to be on.

I write and it feels RIGHT.

Which brings me, quite easily, to December’s question.

In terms of your writing career, where do you see yourself five years from now, and what’s your plan to get there?

It’s such an important question – particularly as I am spending this month reflecting on a lot of things in regards to where I place my time, attention and energy.

I vowed, quite some time ago, that I wouldn’t allow myself to think about “where I’ll be in five years” (unless required to by a job interview), because every time I set down an idea or plan I end up finding myself twisting around to something completely different.

That said… five years from now I would like to be writing in a consistent manner – both fiction and non-fiction. I am working on my writing, trying to put into place some systems and self-expectations, to help move to a point where I can be working on a number of projects at once and be putting my voice out there more.


wp-1462383471325.jpg

12 thoughts on “IWSG – What I Write.. and where am I going?”

  1. Good plan! I don’t do well with making long term goals either, so a basic idea of wants worked for me.

    Sounds like you’ve found a calling, at least for right now and that’s all that’s important. They advice that is repeated most often is to write. The non-fiction isn’t what you expected, but it’s working so you have to keep going with it.

    Like

    1. I always TRY to have long-term goals in mind, and try to work towards them… I just find that if I set them down on the page then life will throw curve-balls that I have to roll with. I guess that’s not entirely true… I do have a long-term plan that I wrote down recently, it’s just not something I’m sharing much publicly at this point — more personal benchmarks to strive towards.
      I have always enjoyed non-fiction… I just LOVE fiction. But I’m definitely going with it – you’re entirely right, it has felt like a calling in many ways so I am trying to embrace (and understand) it!

      Like

  2. I’m with you – I can’t do the five year plan. I’ve done it before and it never ends up how I imagined, which is both good and bad. So I’ve stopped “planning.” Instead, I do what I love and hope it takes me where I want to go.

    Good luck to you!

    Like

  3. Great plan! I have a tendency to revise my goals as I go – which makes them more like extensive, insane plans that get revised for sanity’s sake than goals, but I think we each have our own ways of keeping our dreams alive.
    Best wishes writing into and beyond 2017!

    Like

    1. Totally. I have levels of it – some vague ideas, some steps to follow, some “wouldn’t it be nice”… I just try not to predict into the future anymore. Because 5 years ago I would have never imagined I’d be where I am now. And 10 years ago I would never have had a clue that all that has happened in the last 10 years would happen. And if you go back 13 years to when I graduated college well… absolutely no clue.
      So.. here’s hoping the vague ideas I have can come to fruition, and that I am on the right track!

      Like

    1. It really is! I always liked writing papers for school (and my undergrad and graduate degrees both have history (and religion for grad school) focuses), but it’s very neat to be rediscovering how to apply it in my non-academic life!

      Like

  4. I think we all have to figure out what works best for us. Ultimately your plan has to feel right for you to create that motivation. I admire your interest in nonfiction. To me it takes true talent and detail. I wish the best for you and all you are accomplishing and will accomplish. 🙂

    Like

  5. Alli,
    Sounds like we’re in kind of the same place now, in terms of our writing focus and other things. To be honest, I deleted Twitter and am mostly avoiding Facebook because of Politics (mostly). I’m also forcing myself to avoid the news. It’s too much. I admire you for using your voice for good. I agree that a balance of fiction and non-fiction is very good, especially since for me I know non-fiction is so much easier to sell, even if it’s not usually as much fun.
    I agree completely on 5-year plans too, and that was my first thought on seeing the question, then I thought well 5-year dreams. 🙂 Thanks for sharing some of yours.
    Good luck!
    Anne

    Like

What do you think?

