Insecure Writer’s Support Group: NaNo Time

Well, it’s that time of the month again – Insecure Writer’s Support Group Time!

And, it’s that time of year – National Novel Writing Month.

I haven’t been much of a writer lately.  I don’t mean that in a “woe is me, I haven’t been able to write” way, more…. I recognize that I haven’t been making time for my writing, and I haven’t been making the time to refuel.

I made the decision to not participate in NaNo this year.  I love NaNo, I love the community around it, and I love the sense of urgency and extra push to write.  The extra excuse to dedicate more time to writing.

But this year… this year I just can’t.  Because I haven’t been much of a writer lately, and if I do NaNo I think it won’t help me get back to being a writer.  Not at this point in time.

All I have to do is look back over my IWSG posts for the year and the trends of the year is clear.  It’s all about waiting, being determined to push through, and then being determined to wait until I was really ready to start going again.

But really, I need to do some solid organizing.  I need to get myself in order, get myself organized.  I need to set myself up so that systems are in place so that I can actually make progress on projects.  Honestly, I need to decide which projects I am going to focus on so that I can actually make progress, rather than using one project to procrastinate on the other and never making any progress on anything.

So instead of writing, and focusing on getting out a bunch of words, I’m dedicating November (and December) to getting organized.  To finally figuring out structures and systems that will help me to actually progress.  2015 was an amazing year for me, writing wise.  I completed a novel draft, and discovered some very important edits that needed to be made.  But 2016 has felt like a long year of procrastination, wandering lost, and searching for some sort of answers about how to move forward.

I love to write.  It used to be that I would pick writing over pretty much any other form of entertainment.  But lately I’ve found myself not wanting to write, at a loss for ideas, and not being able to reconnect to the feeling of calm and sense of deep connection to something other that comes when I am in the middle or working on a story. See, I started out writing for myself, and in the process of trying to find a way to make my work able to be read by others I’ve lost some of that sense of writing for me.  And I need to regain that before I can hope to move forward.

So I sit this NaNo out in terms of writing, but am full in when it comes to trying to make writing progress — I’m going to organize with reckless abandon.

I just hope I’m making the right decision and can manage to find the systems I need to make 2017 a really powerful year for me.

wp-1462383471325.jpg

10 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group: NaNo Time”

  1. I think taking some time to rethink and reorganize is a great idea. I did much the same once, and when I came back I was much more focused and much more productive in my writing than I’d ever been in my life.

    If I may make one suggestion, set an official “restart date.” I picked January 1st, because New Year’s Day is sort of a natural restarting point anyway.

    Like

    1. Yup – I’ve set January 1st as the official restart – everything between now and then is about gearing up and getting ready. From serious cleaning and sorting and getting rid of things, to organizing computer files, getting into a flow using my different planners and filing systems, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate to everything you posted about. I spent the last two years feeling that way and getting nothing done in the process. I’ve never done NaNo, but I did attempt the camp NaNo a few months back. While I did make some progress in my long overdue WIP, it wasn’t enough to get that spark back.

    I recently had to figure out what I needed and for me it was making it a priority for me to get it done. Writing the story. finishing the project, for myself and so far that mindset has helped me get back the interest in my WIP.

    I wish you the best of luck in getting organized and I hope you find your passion for writing again soon.

    Like

  3. I think it’s fine not to partake. I never have and I can’t say so want to. The timeframe would make me crazy since I love research and can spend a great while digging in before I even start the outlining process. I wish you much luck this year. 🙂

    Like

  4. I think every writer goes through this kind of writing drought at times. I know I do. And I allow myself to be super productive for as long as I can and then take a little break. As long as you keep moving forward, it’s still forward. ☺️ I hope you achieve your goals and find the motivation to write again!

    Like

What do you think?

