Insecure Writers Support Group: Time To Be Honest

wp-1462383471325.jpg

I’m going to be brutally honest. I want to claim that writing hasn’t happened due to being to busy, but I that isn’t entirely true. I mean, I’ve had the time to binge watch a number of seasons of streaming TV so clearly the time is there somewhere.

But why have I not made the progress I want to make if I’ve had the time to do so?

I think part of the answer to that may be fear. I know that, not always that deep down, I have a lot of insecurity about my abilities. Not just in writing, but writing is the thing I’m focusing on just now. See, if I use the excuse of “not enough time” (or whatever excuse might be handy in the moment) then I don’t have to look further into the reasons I haven’t been dedicating my time and energy to writing.

When, really, part of the reason is fear. What if I give my all, dedicate all my efforts and energy into the writing projects and then, when I put them in the hands of another I discover that I am NOT actually a good writer? Then what?

I know this fear is silly. I have been given enough evidence that should support me being a writer – all evidence points to it being within my capabilities but… that doesn’t quiet the fear. And I’m not entirely sure how to push through it. It’s frustrating to know you want to do something, but not having the courage to push through the convenient excuses in order to make it happen.

This is my monthly post as part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, a great group of supportive writers, helping one another through our writing ups-and-downs.
There is also a great Facebook Community for more daily connection!  More posts from the group are tagged on Twitter at #IWSG.

15 thoughts on “Insecure Writers Support Group: Time To Be Honest”

  1. It is not a silly fear – it is something that is very real and affects many people, but especially those in the creative sphere, I find. I know there are no words I can say that will help you overcome the fear, but you will and you must – never, ever let fear stop you realising your potential. I wish you all the very best indeed 🙂

    Like

  2. I think a little time away from writing can be beneficial. I try not to get too mad at myself if I binge watch a TV show rather than write. Sometimes I just need to relieve some stress before I can be creative, and a little mindless entertainment can help me do that.

    Like

  3. Chuck Wendig just talked about this on his blog, about how this fear is pretty much universal. http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2016/10/03/how-a-writer-quiets-his-self-doubt/

    Another thing to remember is that our writing goes in seasons, just like everything else does. While you may not have been writing these past few months, you’ve been doing other things, promoting your jamberry, writing sermons, and everything else that you do.

    There’s a fine line between giving yourself space to relax and just letting the fear keep you away. I don’t think we ever completely master it, but so long as you come back to the writing, I think you’re doing fine.

    *hugs* We’re here for you.

    Like

  4. I can relate to how you feel. I often find myself searching for other things to do…fearing that I may not have any words to write. So I have to engage in some positive self talk so that the fear does not win!

    Like

  5. Alli, {{{hugs}}} I recently got to meet (well see him speak) John Scalzi at WorldCon and he shared a funny and true joke: If you really need to get something done and you don’t want to do it, just ask a writer on deadline and they’ll do it for you! So says one of the most prolific authors ever. We all do it. Seriously, I also hate housework and sometimes I blackmail myself with the threat of all day drafting/editing to get the housework done. =D You are so not alone. Actually, you’re making me feel a lot less guilty about my own procrastination that I tend to bury way deep down and pretend like oh yeah, I was working hard the whole time and no I’m not sure how I finished half a season of Scandal (or whatever) in a single day….

    I don’t know, I keep telling myself things like the only way to do it is to do it, but sometimes with writing it is the opposite of just about anything else where that first step leads naturally to another step. Sometimes that first step and the next and the next just get worse and worse – probably because of that nagging fear that I’m just wasting time. Thanks for sharing this and making me think. It’s so good to know I’m not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, the same thing happens in music, as well. You’re just going to “brush up” a few passages that sounded not so crisp at last week’s rehearsal, and before you know it! You’ve gone into 6 hours of tearing down, and re-planning your entire technical re-work, because you’ve gone “stale”. There’s 12 years hard labor right there! Best to leave the bitch in the box!

      So, I can understand that feeling too, and no, you’re definitely not alone.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You just addressed that big ol’ elephant that is in every writer’s room. We all have that fear. I do the same thing. Dance around it, binge watch this ‘n’ that, and then, I go off and play the viola, which I KNOW I can do. But, writing keeps calling me back. It’s the siren song of “maybe I really can create worlds and moods and people that others will care about”. You are not alone, eclectali. I’ve got a terminal case of it.

    Like

  7. I totally hear you on this. When I first started writing, I dashed off three novels in two years, but then I was invited to join a very exclusive, very published writing group and I lost my confidence entirely. I’ve written one full draft of a novel and two half-novels since, but nothing seems good enough. I often wonder if George R.R. Martin is having this issue and that’s why book 6 of Game of Thrones isn’t out yet? We all have the fear. Just gotta work through it and write

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I was struggling with this very fear this afternoon. I was looking at all the amazing books in Munro’s in Victoria, and I was slammed with the thought that I’m not a good enough writer to get published, that I’ve wasted so many years pursuing a career and a living ~ so what was the point of trying now, that the number of wonderful writers out there far outshine anything I’m capable of, that here I was enjoying the city and sunshine ~ not writing! Well I spiraled down quickly!

    But I’m climbing out now. My grandmother always told me that it was better to have tried and lost than never to have tried at all. So I’m trying and keeping at it, despite all the fits and false starts. I get pleasure, fulfillment, and happiness from writing, so I’m going to keep writing for me, if for no one else. And keep believing I’ll get that book published. Just keep at it!!!

    Like

What do you think?

