The Princess Bride – As You Wish.

 

I don’t remember when I was first introduced to The Princess Bride.  I know the movie was my first exposure to the story – and it was likely right when it came out on VHS. I was 7 years old when that happened. (as my mom said, “it was one we enjoyed…”) so the exposure to the story was about as early as it could have been for a non-movie-theater-going family.  

The poster that didn't bring people into the theaters.
The poster that didn’t bring people into the theaters.

I’ve continued to love the story, and somewhere in high school or college I decided to read the book that it was based on. I was hesitant and worried, having had plenty of exposure to the ways that movies ruined perfectly wonderful books and I had a fear of reading the book and discovering that a beloved movie was actually the ruination of a good book.  That would have been heart-breaking.

313378

But I was in luck.

It was one of those rare instances (the only one that I can readily call to mind) where the book and the movie are both spectacular.  Each with their own character and quirks, their own feel and power – but each enjoyable on their own merit.  

What a rare treat it was to watch that!  And it has become one of my tried-and-trues, a movie I can re-watch over and over again (though I’ll admit I’ve only re-read the book 2 or 3 times).

To celebrate the anniversary of the Princess Bride’s limited release in theaters back in 1987 (it did not become a hit until it was released on VHS) Write On Sisters is hosting Princess Bride Blog-party!  I had been looking for an excuse to get Cary Elwes As You Wish, a memoir about the filming of the movie, and what better excuse?  Yay!

21412202

The book was a light read, very personably written, and I had fun getting a peek into the background of the filming of this movie, and it helped to solidify some answers for me.

I’d always been curious what kind of magic had happened to allow the movie to be as good as the book.   It turns out that the movie had been trying to get produced for some time, but the right mix of people needed to make it had to come together for that to be so. Many of those behind the movie, crew, cast, producers and directors, were fans of the book. The author was on set for some of the filming, and invited to be highly involved. It was his baby, and it was handled with great care.

There were so many little insights, moments of feeling like I was getting to know these actors better, building a sense of connection with these actors who were able to bring these awesome characters to life.  

This book is a fun addition to the Princess Bride story – a bit of behind the scenes that made me just enjoy the movie even more.  I highly recommend that you read it!

Be sure to stop by Write on Sisters and join the party!  I’d love to hear about your thoughts and experiences with The Princess Bride — which characters particularly appealed to you?

3 thoughts on “The Princess Bride – As You Wish.”

  1. I still have As You Wish sitting half-read on my TBR shelf. I was hoping to finish it before the party, but….

    I love Fezzik. I also enjoy the fantastic relationship he shares with Inigo. They’re a great pair of characters, and play off each other perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rewatching this weekend, I was pleased to note that I still enjoyed it — we used to watch it all the time when I was a kid, but it’s been a million years. But I think it’s kind of like Star Wars for me, in that I like all the characters but like the structure of the movie more than any individual. (Yes, I’m the weird kid who was into plot structures… 😉 )

    Like

What do you think?

