I’m not the one who should be speaking.

I have so much to say, and yet, I can’t find the words to say it.

I am responding not just to the murder and violence towards people because of their race.

I am responding not just to the murder and violence towards individuals because of their sexual identity.

I am responding not just to the murder and violence towards people because of their religion.

I am responding not just to the murder and violence towards individuals because of their occupation.

I am responding not just to the murder and violence towards people because of their gender identity.

I am responding not just to the murder and violence….

I am responding also to the hate, the words, the palpable fear and legitimate sense of danger.
Over the past week I’ve felt so much anger, so much frustration.  Every time I looked out at the world there was something else to cause pain, something else to frustrate, something else that I wished I didn’t have to see… something else I wanted to hide from.

But I can’t allow myself to simply hide from it – ignorance is never the answer.  And the historian part of me knows that I have to pay attention, just because it isn’t directly causing me pain doesn’t mean I have any right to look away.  Actually, I have a duty to not look away. I need to witness, to lend aid where I am needed, and to make the space for the voices of those who couldn’t hide from the harsh reality of this world we are living in.

Because it isn’t me that needs to be heard right now.  So instead I will share some of the voices I have seen and heard over the past few days (and in some cases longer than that). Voices worth listening to.

I fit the description

 

 

What do you think?

