Insecure Writer Support Group:

This is my monthly post as part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, a great group of supportive writers, helping one another through our writing ups-and-downs.
There is also a great Facebook Community for more daily connection!  More posts from the group are tagged on Twitter at #IWSG.

wp-1462383471325.jpg

Starting this month we’ve been given a prompt question that we’re welcome to answer… and I’m glad for it, because the particular prompt this month really got me thinking.

The question: What is the best thing someone has ever said about your writing?

I had to think for a long time on this, and then I realized what it was — one memory that stands out clearly in my mind even though it was nearly 20 years ago.  It’s a memory that helps reinvigorate me when I am hitting hard times in my writing. And, let’s be honest, my writing path has seen its fair share of “hard times.”

When I was just a few years into my fiction writing journey, finally getting around to taking Creative Writing 1 as an elective in high school, and the teacher commented that I really could have gone straight to Creative Writing 2 because I had already taught myself what she had to teach… how powerful a boost to my confidence in my natural ability.

Because it is there, and it is real, even when I let doubts and the overwhelming sense of fear take over there is still a kernel of truth buried beneath the gloom that I do have a talent. I just have to keep brushing away the accumulated of grime: the criticism and self-doubt, the over-analysis, those who tear work down for the sheer fun and entertainment of it.  I need to scrub that away and allow the light to shine through, the reminder that I do have talent… and a drive to put that writing into action.

What is the best thing someone has ever said about your writing?  And, more importantly, how has that influenced and impacted your work?

5 thoughts on “Insecure Writer Support Group:”

  1. I really like that! And I agree. Even the inclination to write shows some natural ability, I think. Because 99% of people would never even think about it. We should all remember that when we hit our low points. 😀 Love this post!

    Like

  2. Alli, I always love reading from you because you always have something heartfelt to say. I love that metaphor of the dirt and grime of criticism and self-doubt covering up the kernel of talent you know is there, because you’ve been told so. Thanks so much for sharing this! I’m in this spiritual place right now where I’m trying to let go of the negative and find the positive so this really spoke to me on that level too. Thanks for being you!
    Anne

    Like

  3. Ooh, I didn’t know about the prompt questions. I’ll have to check on that next month! (I already had something I wanted to talk about this month.) I doubt I’d have been able to answer this month’s question, though: I don’t get very many comments on my writing of any kind, good or bad.

    In part because I tend not to let others read what I’ve written. But it’s also been because most of the people who’ve read my work have subscribed to “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.”

    I think that’s one of the reasons I don’t share my work: I know it’ll be hated for how bad it is, so I just keep it to myself. Like therapy without the psychologist bills.

    Like

  4. Keep going. Keep believing. Words are powerful and hang on to the good ones, let go of the bad ones. Everyone has an opinion but it’s the good ones they help us and take us places we may never have gone on our own.

    Like

What do you think?

