If We Were Having Coffee…. It’s HOT out there!

If we were having coffee I’d invite you to join me in front of a fan.. or perhaps somewhere with air-conditioning.  According to my phone it’s already 81 degrees, and it’s just barely noon.  Today is supposed to get up to the 100’s… tomorrow is supposed to be slightly milder — but only just slightly.

I am not a fan of the heat, so I am going to be spending much of the day trying to lay-low.  There’s definitely some Jamberry work I need to get done — and some serious writing as well. I’m WAY behind on some blog posts, and even further behind on some fiction projects (a few of which have actual deadlines to pay attention to).

This week has been pretty non-spectacular overall.  I worked, and did some work at home. I was happy to start getting back into writing at my lunch-break, something I need to push myself to do more often. I’ve actually let both my Hulu Plus and Netflix accounts lapse this month in hopes that it will keep me from coming home and zoning out as much. It is helping, a little, in increasing the reading and writing that happens – both things I want to do MUCH more of this summer.

I signed up for a summer reading program at my library, speaking of reading!  I’m excited that they have a program for adults, I used to LOVE the summer reading program when I was a kid. And I am so far behind in the reading I’d been planning to do this year — I feel like there is a whole stack of books (and reading programs) I set out to do this year that have gotten no attention since January.

We’re heading into a busy week at work this week, and I’m hoping that things go smoothly.  I like when we’re busy, though I know it’s going to take a lot of my energy to get through the week so am trying to make sure I’m set up for an easier time in the evenings and mornings so I’m not having to worry about things like meals and cleaning.  Come home from work, relax, go to sleep, repeat — that’s the goal.

But for now, I remind myself that I’m only not super-hot because I’ve been sitting still and I should not be tempted by the call or rearranging furniture… though there’s nothing quite like rearranging to help encourage getting rid of things (and I do want to start getting rid of some of the things I have, I just have so much stuff and a lot of it I simply don’t use.  For instance, I’d love to imagine some day I’ll get back to crocheting, beading, sewing, etc… but maybe I should limit how much of the materials I keep for that stuff to a few quality pieces until I start really getting back into it all.

Tempting….

What are you up to today?

 

 

Weekend Coffee Share is a weekly link-up hosted by Part-Time Monster — be sure to check out her post for some exciting news about the future of her blog, and the future of Weekend Coffee Share!!!weekendcoffeeshare (1)

11 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…. It’s HOT out there!”

  1. Hi! You may remember me and my blog (In the Bookcase) from a year ago. I’m hosting the Louisa May Alcott reading challenge again during June. I’d love it if you stopped by, or if you happen to be interested in joining the challenge again for 2016, that would be awesome. 🙂

    Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I cant get over the temperatures you are having considering its freezing cold outside right now, being winter and all
    You just join us seating in front of the fire telling stories
    ~B

    Like

  3. An adult summer reading program sounds wonderful! I have fallen behind on my reading goals too but only because I am reading such a difficult book right now. After this, I’ll read a few shorter, and easier, book to catch me up. Good luck with work this week and thank you for the coffee 🙂

    Like

  4. Can so relate to being behind with the reading. The books will be holing up the roof soon.
    It’s Winter here. So, while you’re trying to cool down, I’m struggling to keep warm I am currently reading a bio of Roald Dahl, which I’m loving but at 600 pages, it’s taking me awhile to get through it and I think it’s been over a week since I last picked it up. Not that I’m not enjoying it. Probably finding the size intimidating even though I love every word and it’s very well written. Highly recommended.
    Anyway, i’s well past my bedtime.
    xx Rowena

    Like

  5. It has been a tough couple of days trying to beat the heat. Last night, at about 1 (ok, this morning) it was 69 degrees outside but still 88 degrees INSIDE my house! It’s already getting hot out there and it’s not 10 yet. I foresee another day of staying in my bedroom doing as little as possible with as little clothes as possible and a lot of water and ice.

    Like

  6. I have so much reading to catch up on! And I need to step up my activity too, I feel like everything I do is sedentary.. I love to write and read other blogs and have a whole stack of books to get through. A little at a time, I suppose.

    Like

What do you think?

