Y is for Yosemite

yNearing the end of our journeys – Robin is going to lead us into Yosemite National Park!  Robin Rivera trained as a professional historian and worked as a museum curator. She writes young adult thrillers and her blog ishttp://writeonsisters.com. Or you can find her on Twitter at @RobinRWrites.

sign-653376_1280

Yosemite Valley is a premiere outdoor destination in a state overloaded with fabulous landscapes. It boasts pounding waterfalls, towering granite walls and beautiful historical buildings. It’s a million sights all worthy of a photograph or a painting, making it the muse of world-class artists for over a century.

yosemite-national-park-657421_1280
Spring is the most popular season to visit the park. That’s when the waterfalls are at their peak and Dogwood trees are blooming. Summer is best for enjoying the high alpine meadows where the wildflowers may still linger. Both seasons are not easy to get reservations for. You’ll need to plan about 6 months in advance for your visit. Taking advantage of off-peek months is a great alternative. My family goes almost every year and I can say from experience the park is fantastic year-round.
half-dome-828707_1280
Although the park is best known for its waterfalls, I love Yosemite for the rock walls. I can sit for hours and watch the light travel over the faces of Half Dome and El Capitan. I like to stay safe on the valley floor and marvel as climbers brave the long, scary climb straight up!

el-capitan-3767_640
I’ve been going to Yosemite since I was about five and my own kids started going at just six months old. Some of my favorite memories are of them toddling along in the dirt, fists clutching pine needles and rocks with big gummy grins plastered on their faces. Later they started jumping over the boulders and slashing in the freezing cold water of the Merced River. The park truly has something for every age and fitness level. My grandmother made her first trip to Yosemite well into her 70s and she loved it.
yosemite-falls-821701_1280
I consider Yosemite National Park one of the must see sights of the world. Many people agree, and the park is always included on lists of the most popular outdoor destinations in the USA. I honestly can’t think of a better way to spend a week outdoors. Take a copy of John Muir’s book on Yosemite with you. No author has captured the beauty of Yosemite better than Muir.

4 thoughts on “Y is for Yosemite”

  1. I’ve always adored picture of Yosemite. Despite the fact I love the percs of living in a city, I’ve always thought I’d be truly happy living in the mountains. Peace and quiet and breathtaking views! Now I’ll go look Robin up as she sounds cool. Congrats on being (almost) finished with the A-Z!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! I have been both. Born a city gal and now a mountain gal. And I’m happy in the mountains. I do have to brave storms, power outages and Spring snow, but I love waking up everyday to the smell of pine trees. I’m glad you enjoyed my post! If you ever visit Yosemite I can assure you the landscape will not disappoint.

    Like

  3. Wow, Robin! Thanks so much for featuring this beautiful spot and your photos are quite breathtaking. I would love to get there someday. I need to get myself some kind of Tardus so I can travel more.
    xx Rowena

    Like

What do you think?

