E is for Endinburgh

eToday’s tour guide is David of Comparative Geek!


You find yourself at a Natural History museum. You start on the bottom floor, and find yourself with the oldest stuff. Prehistory. You work your way up the building, floor to floor, working your way at the same time through history. Finally, at the top floor, you just step out to a balcony, and look out on the modern city.

While standing on the strangest, most out-of-place modern building around…

This was a view from somewhere around Edinburgh when I was there…

As you look upon modern Edinburgh, you see the two cities, the Old Town, and the New Town. One uphill from the other. An awesome castle. You see Edinburgh, a place of past, present, and future.

One of the things I got to do the most of while in Edinburgh was do some literary-based touring. There was a literary pub crawl! But maybe the best literary stop was none other than The Elephant House, the cafe in which J.K. Rowling wrote the first Harry Potter novel.

The Elephant House, 2005.

Rather than focusing on that, however, they focused on their charity and awareness activity: the life and treatment of elephants. There was just a little news clipping on the wall inside to share the story of Rowling writing there.

And I could see the appeal. The cafe – the whole city itself – just lends itself to storytelling. I don’t know that I can fully explain it, but I can tell you it’s what I felt when I was there. And I want to go back – I often joke (only half-jokingly) that I plan on retiring to Edinburgh. And depending on the direction life in America takes, I may end up there a whole lot sooner…


This post is by @CompGeeksDavid from Comparative Geeks, where he blogs with his wife and sister and other geeks. For now, find him on the Internet. Someday, find him in Edinburgh.

wp-1458568566815.jpg

15 thoughts on “E is for Endinburgh”

  1. I haven’t been to Edinburgh (or any other place in Europe) since 1995. And like everything else on that trip, I wish I’d had more time to look around at my own pace.

    I’ve definitely got to go back there someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There was a lot of love for the old Scots tongue, and the authors who have done work to keep it alive. There was also a lot of love for Americans. We’ve fought the English, they’ve fought the English… kindred spirits I guess!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So sorry, everyone! Apparently when you don’t do A to Z yourself for a year you completely lose track of which day is which letter! Thanks for all the love for my post, and for Edinburgh! Such a great place 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

