Insecure Writer’s Support Group: Not Insecure!

 

Insecure Writers Support Group Badge

It’s strange to be writing a post about insecurity as a writer when I haven’t been writing.

I’m still trying to get back to it, reclaim my drive and get writing – it’s taking its own sweet time but lately I’ve been being hit by a strange feeling.

Although I haven’t written fiction in MONTHS, and my non-fiction has remained in the stage of theoretical thoughts, I am NOT feeling Insecure about claiming the title of “writer.”  Though the words are not flowing from me to the page like they sometimes have — there are ideas gathering in my head.  I am finding myself people watching, imagining story-points, crafting images in my head that might end up translated to a story.

There are a lot of pieces that go into being a writer, and we all go through different phases at different times — it’s nice to, for once, be comfortable in the stage of writing I’m currently in. To not be worried that I am, somehow, doing it wrong.

Where are you in your writing this month?


 

This is my monthly post as part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, a great group of supportive writers, helping one another through our writing ups-and-downs.
There is also a great Facebook Community for more daily connection!  More posts from the group are tagged on Twitter at #IWSG.

6 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group: Not Insecure!”

  1. I know what you mean; I haven’t been writing lately, either. Well, not the writing I consider “my writing.” I’ve been writing papers for class, and I’ve been writing blog posts pretty consistently (including some short stories) but no work on my unfinished novels, or revising the finished ones, or starting the unstarted one, or…anything.

    I tell myself it’s just lack of time, but I wonder if it’s really just “not the right time.” I’m trying not to let it worry me, since I’ve gone through phases of no-writing before.

    Like

What do you think?

