Background Artwork by Rose B. Fischer

Passionate Geeks: Faking it and Finding my Geekdom

Passionate Geeks is a monthly feature (the second Wednesday of the month), where I invite people to explore and share about those things that they are passionate about.
What kind of a Geek are you? (If you’d like to answer this question on this blog just let me know!)


With the newest installment of the Star Wars franchise filling the stores and social media I find myself face to face with a somewhat hidden reality about myself.

I may not be a real geek.

Because of the people I am drawn to, the  groups I find myself comfortable in, I end up friends with people who are deeply familiar with Star Wars, Star Trek, Doctor Who, and the like. I have been part of so many conversations that I can sometimes join in, often get the jokes, and many of the references despite the fact that I haven’t actually watched Doctor Who, have only vague memories of seeing Star Wars, and have been a casual Star Trek viewer, at best.

This means, though, that sometimes I feel like I’m faking it.  Can I even claim real geek-cred when the part of the original Star Wars I like the most is the ewoks and the only Star Trek episode I can really remember is the one with the Tribbles?  There are times when conversations are happening and I feel worried that open my mouth might give me away… that somehow I will be less accepted and welcomed into the group if they realize that I am faking it.

But I LOVE hearing those conversations.  I get such a thrill listening to people talk about things they’re passionate about – it’s a huge part of the reason that I started this feature!

And I’ve been so happy, over these past few months, to have the chance to open up the definition of “geek” by inviting people to share their passions with us here on Eclectic Alli. A way for me to let that conversations happen online.

We’ve talked glassware, plants, bands, blogging, and so much more.  Creating places for people to let their voices be heard is one of my passions, and I am so happy that I have the opportunity to provide a platform for people to share their geekdoms.

The definition of geek is pretty broad, and the one I look to is “a person who is very interested in and knows a lot about a particular field or activity.”  So, while some of the sci-fi might not be my thing, I still have plenty of other passions that draw my interest above-and-beyond that of the casual participant.  One of those, I think, is listening to others talk about those things they are passionate about.

There are more spaces available in the coming months, tell me, what is your geekdom?  

2 thoughts on “Passionate Geeks: Faking it and Finding my Geekdom”

  1. Ewoks and Tribbles? Your geekdom is starting to seem a little… fuzzy.
    I know how you feel, though. When people are going on about… whatever the latest sci-fi TV show is, it’s just so much noise to me. My group knows that I don’t follow that stuff, though, and they don’t seem to think less of me for it.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

