If We Were Having Coffee — Welcome 2016!

If we were having coffee I’d probably be on my third or fourth cup. It was an unexpectedly early morning for me – I woke up for no reason at about 5 am and wasn’t able to get back to sleep. I had planned to sleep in today but, alas, no such luck, so I’m trying to make the most of the day and get some good work done.  But, that means a bit more coffee.

I’d tell you that the new addition to my family, Midnight, is settling in nicely – he did have a bit of an upset stomach this morning, but with all the changes and the fact that he’s finishing up some antibiotics for a kitty-cold it’s not really a big surprise.  I was very impressed that he went into the bathroom when he felt sick and tried to keep it on the bathmat, which made for easy clean-up.

He’s made himself right at home, including taking over my entire bed. He’s a great cuddler, loves to play with stringy things, and listens very well (I’ve been really impressed with how well he seems to listen when I tell him to not do something, seriously a better listener than the family dogs).  We’ve bonded pretty well, pretty quickly and I’m so happy that we found each other at  the shelter (I got him from Cat Adoption Team, and have been so impressed by them, they are such a great place!)

20160102_081850
During our coffee Midnight is curled up enjoying a nap after his busy morning!

I promise you, I’m not going to become a completely obsessed cat-mama, but right now he is pretty much my focus.

Well, okay, one focus of mine… writing is another. I kind of fell apart on the DeDoWriMo this year, but it is something I’m thinking of repeating it again next year. We’ll see.  I’ve been putting together my plans for the coming year (and will be sharing them later this week), I’m hoping to structure my blogging and writing a bit better this coming year so I don’t hit the same points of being overwhelmed and shutting down (in my writing) as I did this year.

If we were having coffee I’d tell you that I had a pretty relaxed New years Eve, and that we held a small open house house New Years day (which was very fun).  It’s been pretty busy so I’m looking forward to the relaxing the rest of the weekend and getting myself started on my New Years writing and reading plans!

How was your New Years?


 

 

 

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!

weekendcoffeeshare (1)

12 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee — Welcome 2016!”

  1. I had a Midnight (or rather Minuit) once too, now I have two sisters: Ebonie and Réglisse (Liquorice). Black cats are the best – here in France they bring good luck. Wish you much joy with him!

    Like

  2. Insomnia stinks, but Midnight is beautiful. Just like Diana, I am allergic and cannot have a house cat. I love cats and if we ever get a farm, I will definitely have a barn cat. I’ll be interested to see how you end up structuring your blogging and writing this year. I probably could use some structure in my slapdash writing routines!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m mildly allergic, which is why I couldn’t get a long-haired cat, but not enough to worry me. And Midnight appears to be a very-short-haired cat… I haven’t noticed ANY shedding yet! Crazy! 🙂
      I’m hoping I can keep to the structure I’m setting up… I do better if I have some sort of organization going on!

      Like

  3. Happy New Year to you and yours, Alli. I love your new addition. How old is Midnight? Is he fully grown?
    My daughter is desperate to have a cat and one of her friend’s cats had kittens and she was desperate to get one but just to add to the list of those allergic to cats, my husband is quite severely allergic. He grew up on phenergan and literally was given medication every day for his hayfever. He grew up on farm which had at times, more than its quota of barn cats and he was much better once he’d moved out.
    Speaking of dogs, I’ve just written two posts which are New Year’s resolution for my dogs. It was a bit of fun and it turned out so much better than expected.
    See you next weekend and like many others here, I’ll also be needing to improve my time-management this year. I’ve fallen off the wagon completely being on holidays since Christmas. Mind you, it’s been raining the whole time too which, as far as I’m concerned, is a PJ day when you’re on holidays.
    xx Rowena

    Like

    1. Midnight is about 2 years old – I think he’s full grown (I certainly hope he is! He’s a pretty big cat!) but being a shelter cat it can be hard to tell just how hold he is…
      My allergy to cats is mild, and so far not acting up with Midnight (at least, no more than it does for dust….)
      I hope your dogs can keep to the New Years Resolutions! 🙂 And that you can figure out the time-management… it’s SO HARD to do… My ongoing struggle.

      Like

    1. Thanks! I think I’ve hit the point where I have enough different projects going, of different types, that I SHOULD be able to balance them. Enough that pushes me to do what needs to be done (because I know that if I don’t I’ll never catch up!)

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

