If we were having coffee: December is here!

If we were having coffee I’d  tell you that I’m planning to spend most of the day writing. I need to settle down and put some serious time into the writing — not only the novel I have been working on, but also some materials for DeDoWriMo. I’d tell you how excited I am by all the people who are participating, I hope that we can all achieve our goals!

Work is heading into crazy-week, so I know I’m going to be slammed and know my energy is going to be low, so I’m hoping to use this weekend to also relax a bit before going into that all.

I am loving the arrival of the Holiday spirits – I celebrate Christmas and enjoy the colors, songs, and greens that comes with that celebration as well as the lights… so many light that bring important brightness to these darker days.

20151204_172247
Downtown Portland with the tree lit up, many other trees are wrapped in lights as well!
20151204_212155
Beaverton Town Center strings up lights every year, with a tree perched atop the clock!

It’s also been a time to hunker down, settle into the comfort of fuzzy socks, blankets, and sweaters. The puppies in my family have been taking this to heart, and for the first time since I moved into my room they’ve both found that they have places where they can settle when they decide to visit.

20151129_143836
Can you spot them both?

I probably should get moving if I actually want to make some progress today and not just end up curling up under blankets reading and doing some Christmas crafting.  What are you doing this weekend?


Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!

weekendcoffeeshare (1)

8 thoughts on “If we were having coffee: December is here!”

  1. What beautiful pics! I love Christmas decorations and love the snow on your blog page too. Good luck with your writing project and have a lovely weekend! 🙂

    Like

  2. I too like all of the lights of the dark December holiday season. The simple beauty of a small light in the darkness lifts my spirits every time. Good job with your DeDoWriMo! Keep it up!

    Like

  3. Loved your photos of the lights, Alli. They’re beautiful. It is so different spending Christmas in a hot climate where we’re trying to cool everything down and you guys are trying to keep warm. I saw a photo of my friends’ kids with Santa the other day and Santa looked like he had heat stroke. Not only do we have the heat but we also have long days. Many houses around here are decked out in Christmas lights but you need to drive round about 10.00PM to really enjoy them after dark. Perhaps, 9.00PM. We usually do take the kids around to check them out.
    Good luck with the writing. My writing has been completely sabotaged and I’m not succumbing to Christmas and the heat. We’ve had hails storms, hard disk trouble. All I need now is for the dog to eat my stuff. xx Rowena

    Like

What do you think?

