#DeDoWriMo: Day 3: Jump at the Sun

November 28, 2015 21648 PM PSTHow’s the writing going?

For me starting can be the hardest part… I haven’t mustered up the energy to get the level of writing that I usually start a writing month with. I’m over-thinking, instead of just plunging in (which, in this case, is what I need to do).  Time to push that aside and focus on the writing that needs to be done!

Corina found this quote that I’m going to take to heart as I step into a new day today, with plans to get some actual writing done today!

“Mama exhorted her children at every opportunity to “jump at de sun.” We might not land on the sun, but at least we would get off the ground.” – Zora Neale Hurston.

Jump at the sun, everyone. You can do it.

How are you doing on meeting the writing goals? What challenges are you feeling right now?

(It’s not too late to sign up either!  If you want to join please, toss your hat into the ring!)

4 thoughts on “#DeDoWriMo: Day 3: Jump at the Sun”

  1. So far, good. My blogging goal is going fine. I’m on the road so it will be tougher for the next few days but I’m pretty sure I can manage a post a day, even if I have to resort to photos.

    Like

  2. I literally just started writing my narrator’s backstory, almost as notes to myself, and picked up with the first scene that came to me from that. You can always go back and fix it when you have a better idea of what you’re doing!

    Like

    1. That’s what I’ve been trying to do this round – backstory, scenes as they come. The last novel draft was written as separate scenes, rather than the chronological style I normally work in. This story I’m trying to find the right flow for… is it a chronological telling, a backstory-first, something else entirely?

      Like

What do you think?

