Three Things Thursday: November 26, 2015

Nerd In The Brain does this thing called “Three Things Thursday” where she posts three things that made her smile. I love it and decided that I would go ahead and give it a go today, as my family gears-up/settles-down for a relaxing, simple, Thanksgiving day.

 

Back cover of "Drake and The Fliers" by Allison Maruska.

Earlier this year I got to read a preview copy of this book and was asked to write a blurb for the back!  This week the paper-back became available and I got to see it — This awesome book is now available and there’s my name, helping out another author!

20151125_073258

My daily commute takes me downtown. I’ve been frowning at the Macy’s decorations (which have been up since before Halloween), but then this week I saw Nordstrom’s decorations. They’re clearly gearing up for Christmas but, what you can’t see clearly in this picture is what is actually visible in their windows. I wasn’t able to get close enough to read the fine print, but the large print on those posters says “Happy Thanksgiving.”  It made me smile to see this way of handling that need to get the Christmas decorations ready while still honoring the fact that we’ve got Thanksgiving first.

20151126_090553Our Thanksgiving table.  It’s a small group, two of my brothers, a friend of my brother’s, my mom and myself.  Small, simple, and hopefully pretty relaxing and fun.  Mom set the table last night, with the nice dishes, including some that belonged to my grandmother.  I’m looking forward to the meal and company, and it makes me smile to see the table all set like this.

If you want to see all the random things I find of interest during the week be sure to follow me on Instagram.

What things have you seen this week?  What are you up to today?

three-things-thursday-widget-badge

4 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday: November 26, 2015”

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you’ve joined the Three Things Thursday fun. 😀 Your name on the back of a book is pretty bloomin’ awesome…congrats to you! I hope you have a wonderful rest of your Thanksgiving. 😀

    Like

  2. Congrats on getting quoted on a book – that’s awesome! Your table and dining room are so pretty. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Like

What do you think?

