If We Were Having Coffee… Getting back into the swing of things

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!


If we were having coffee I’d tell you that I’ve been struggling a bit to get back into the swing of things. Vacation was awesome – a full week of living off my own schedule, sleeping in and spending plenty of time doing nothing in a beautiful setting – and it has been hard to go back to working all day in an office, with my commute I’m out of the house for 12 hours a day.  I miss sitting by the water, relaxing and letting my mind wander without caring about what time it is.

I’ve been spending a lot of this week (when not working) zoning out.  Which means I haven’t gotten any of the writing done this week that I was supposed to do… or the reading.  So I’m setting a goal for the next week to get back into some better habits and patterns… hopefully I’ll be able to figure out a way to make it all work out and still make time for more zoning-out and relaxing time — vacation reminded me how very much I need to make sure I have time when I’m not doing anything.

I’d tell you I’ve been having fun with Nerd In The Brain‘s Go Play challenge — and I can’t think of a better motivator to get me out to enjoy some free-fun-play time.  This summer I’ve been realizing some things about how I’ve been approaching my writing, and how non-sustainable that approach is for me.  So getting out and playing some is very important!

How has your week gone? What are your plans as the seasons turn?

 

7 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Getting back into the swing of things”

  1. I’m Down Under so we’re just stepping into Spring. It’s currently school holidays and we’re vegging out a bit this week. As much as I usually carpe diem seize the day, I just want to crash out at the moment. Humph…sounds like your zoning out state. If only we could push the snooze button down for a bit and catch our breath xx Rowena

    Like

What do you think?

