Celebrate Awards!

Celebrate the Small Things

Today is Celebrate the Small Things Friday.  Hosted by Lexa Cain, L.G. Keltner of Writing Off the Edge, and Tonja Drecker of Kidbits, Celebrate the Small Things is a time when we all take a moment to celebrate something good from our week.  It can be small, it can be big, just something to look back on the week and celebrate!


I’m celebrating getting the award of Nerd of the Week from Nerd in the Brain for the Go Play, Go Learn ChallengeHead In The Clouds.”  wpid-wp-1440510685898.png

Yay! I particularly love that I got this by taking lots of cloud pictures, and writing about clouds, and just generally geeking out about clouds.  The next challenge has to do with trees, so I’m excited about that too!

 

 

And I’m celebrating that, a while ago, I received the Blogger Recognition Award from Time For My Thoughts!

wpid-20150726090649144

As with many awards this one has “rules” which I will follow in my own way 🙂

Blogger Recognition Award Rules:

  1. Select 15 other blogs to which you want to give the award. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
  2. Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. Make sure to attach the award! (You can do this by right clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
  3. Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

I nominated anyone and everyone who would like to receive this award… there are some awesome bloggers out there and I admire the work you do!

I started this blog because I wanted a project. I hadn’t been writing much, and I had friends with all sorts of different kinds of blogs… it seemed the thing to do.  For years it lingered on with very little activity or action.  I did a few posts on some of my travels,  some of my baking, some of my sewing, and some about life happenings…. but for most of the first few years of its life this blog had a lot of place-holder updates.

Then I moved across country.  I  finished the Graduate program that had been taking so much of my time, and I found myself needing to get back into some regular writing habits. I wasn’t sure what form it would all take — but my blog was still here so I started back in.  It’s possible things would have waned, that I would have drifted from the blogging… but I found a great community here and now am fairly well entrenched!

My advice to new bloggers: find your people.  It’s true for everything, but finding a community that can help support you (both in the public eye and behind the scenes) is so vital.  I love the friends I’ve made through this blog.

And, another piece of advice: remember that what you are saying on your blog is there for the public to see.  Pay attention to your words, try to put your best foot forward, but also be real – be yourself, after all, it’s your blog!

10 thoughts on “Celebrate Awards!”

  1. You have a nice blog. And I like your advice to new bloggers. It’s important to find supportive readers of your blog and write for them.
    I’m getting bolder about specializing my blog for those readers. And I’m now no longer afraid, when I get blog comments from someone who is not supportive, to ignore them. I even deleted a comment yesterday from someone who called my blog post ‘ludicrous’. It’s a waste of time to ignore your real ‘fans’ to deal with problem people like that.

    Like

  2. Yes, finding a community of like minded people to support you is crucial! Congrats on your two awards and for keeping up with your blogging now. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. Go you on your awards! You definitely deserve them. I get the warm fuzzies whenever I’m nominated for one. I love the feeling of community when I’m thought of and remembered. Enjoy. (((HUGS))) Eva

    Like

What do you think?

