If We Were Having Coffee… Bagels on Fire!

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!


If we were having coffee I’d tell you a little about what I learned yesterday:

  1. Sometimes a bagel doesn’t fit into a toaster because it is a bagel and they can be oddly shaped.
  2. Sometimes, however, the bagel does not fit because there is actually a little heel of another type of bread down in the toaster that someone else forgot about.
  3. If there are small flames coming out of the toaster and someone else is around my first response is to calmly ask, “What do you do for a toaster fire?”
  4. Unplugging the toaster is always a good place to start.
  5. Putting a pizza pan over the top of the toaster will not cut off the air circulation enough to put out the flames.
  6. Blowing out the flames, though, can help do what the pizza pan could not.
  7. The colors of hot fire are really pretty and I kind of wish I could have captured them to look at more closely (I did not).

Thankfully the only casualty was half a bagel and that heel of bread, the toaster fared fine, as did the half a bagel that was NOT in the burning-side.

That was the big excitement of the week – what a way to start out my Friday…. Luckily the rest of the day went smoothly.

I’d tell you I’ve slowed down on my edits, but am still trudging along.  I’m liking the changes I’m making, and part of the reason I’m going so slowly is because I’m really trying to think about what needs to be done, how to do it well and then doing it. Yup, this is the revision where no gaps are allowed, where the story makes sense and flows properly.  Then I can give it to those first readers for their first impressions.

What have you been up to?  How are you doing?

 

17 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Bagels on Fire!”

    1. At home – we don’t have anything so fancy at work (I get my coffee from a pour-over thing I bought. We do have a microwave though.. and a mini-fridge…)
      Oooh! Ideas! I like ideas! Hit me up and let’s chat 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Haha! Sorry about the toaster, but you’ve communicated the whole thing in a way that seems like something you might see on a sitcom.

    What I hate is when the bagel does fit, but then when it pops up, the bagel stays down in the toaster because it’s too thick and heavy to actually pop up.

    The pretty colors are chemicals from the plastic and the metal alloys in the heating element, btw.

    Best of luck with the editing. Sometimes when I’m doing a bunch of editing, I get to the point where I just have to keep trudging. It’s the least fun part of writing to me.

    Like

    1. It kinda FELT like a sitcom moment, honestly. I am blaming the fact that I had yet to have any coffee – my workday routine is usually one I can mostly do in my sleep, so anything out of the norm just kind of confuses me.
      This toaster (which is less than a year old) is kind of awesome – it’s wide enough for bagels to fit well, and it has a “bagel” setting… and it is structures so you can actually PUSH UP the handle which will push the bottom of the toaster up to make it easier to access the bagel! No more grabbing forks and carefully trying to spear the bagel to pry it out 🙂
      I refuse to recognize the pretty colors are anything other than pretty colors… they were certainly not toxic things burning.. nope, nope, nope. 😉
      The editing path is fairly new for me in fiction, so when I’m able to put the energy into it and be in the right head-space, even the dull parts of it aren’t so bad because -if nothing else- I can analyse how I am approaching it to think about how to improve the process on the next novel. And at this point it is kind of like working with a large puzzle. There are these spaces where I already see errors and problems, how do I take care of them before we get to them in the story itself? Not my favorite part of writing, certainly, but not so bad (in the right headspace..)

      Like

  2. How dramatic, our toaster has an automatic timer thing that gradually ticks down. Unfortunately it sometimes gets stuck while on, leading to extremely burnt toast and clouds of smoke, unless we keep a close eye on it. (Not easy before a cup of tea and with 2 children being children.) Haven’t had flames yet, glad no one was hurt.

    Like

  3. I had a roommate who used to routinely set the kitchen on fire. She’d always calmly walk down the hall, inform me, and ask me to come put it out. All I ever did was throw a ratty old towel over it, but for some reason, I was better at putting out fires than anyone else in the house. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

