If We Were Having Coffee… planning

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!


If we were having coffee I’d tell you it was a pretty uneventful week.  Work has been busy, and I haven’t had a lot of energy in the evenings.  I need to buckle down on the editing, managed a little bit but am thinking that I may need to give myself a bit more time on this.  It’s my first time doing this kind of work on a novel and I’m learning an awful lot about my own process and think (hope) that the next one will be able to go smoother.

My plans for the weekend are very heavy on the editing — with a few other events scattered about.  Hopefully I’ll get back into the groove and make some real progress.

This weekend I also will be working on some blog-plotting.  I have some ideas brewing about, been doing a bit of plotting, planning and idea bouncing with people.  What I need to put some real time and thought into is just what I want to really focus on.  I have limited energy and need to manage it carefully – with work taking more of it, and wanting to make more progress on the novel I have to pay attention to what I’m working on.  Which means some planning — figuring out which projects will keep for a while, which ones can be knocked out more quickly, and setting things into motion.

That’s about all I’ve got today.  Lots of thoughts swirling around in my head, but if we were having coffee I’d calm them to hear what you’ve got going on these days.  Tell me, I’d love to hear.

 

12 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… planning”

  1. I’m breezing through life lately, and trying to enjoy it 😀
    My son is home, the state fair is here, our anniversary lingers — all is well.
    I hope your swirling plans manifest something beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How to balance blogging, novel writing and work. The eternal conundrum. Please let me know if you have any tips, my blog has been suffering from neglect recently. Hope things become clearer and good luck with the editing.

    Like

  3. Hope you managed to get a lot of good editing work done!

    I’m in the same spot as you with blog plotting. I have got to make a list of posts to write and then start writing them instead of bouncing about so much.

    Like

    1. Editing had ended up being completely put aside by the need to get my living space cleaned and sorted. Figure that maybe I’ll be able to make ACTUAL progress on writing/editing if I have a less cluttered space? I hope….
      Think this week will be spend sitting down and pumping out blog posts (lunch-break writing will help with that!) Or, at the very least, solidifying what I want to be writing and planning to get them written.
      Just call me Alli of the Ever Shifting Plans…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you can get your thoughts organized and focus on productivity. I know how big of a struggle that can be, sometimes. I’m preparing to head to Thailand in a month, so I need to get all my paperwork and such in order…all while working full time and trying not to wear myself out too much!

    Like

What do you think?

