Background Artwork by Rose B. Fischer

Passionate Geeks: Fly Your Geek Flag!

Passionate Geeks is a monthly feature (the second Wednesday of the month), where I invite people to explore and share about those things that they are passionate about.
What kind of a Geek are you?


image3Today’s Passionate Geek is Sarah E. Boucher.  She spends her days instilling young children with the same love of literature she has known since childhood. After hours, she pens her own stories and nurses an unhealthy obsession for handbags, high heels, and British television. Sarah is a graduate of Brigham Young University. She lives and teaches in Ogden, Utah.  Becoming Beauty is her first novel.


I have weird taste. I can own that. It’s not uncommon that I fall in love with dorky things before they’re cool. (And even if they never become cool.) Sometimes I refuse to love them after they achieved coolness. Like Harry Potter. I wouldn’t read it for years because people liked it too much. These days, I’m waiting on my Hogwarts letter and pinning DIY wands on Pinterest. (As a side note, I did get caught up in the Twilight hoopla when it was at its peak. I’m still chagrinned about that.)

image1
With friends at Comic Con!

I’m not ashamed of my fangirl status. I will happily and loudly fangirl over Sherlock, Doctor Who, Psych, Downton Abbey, Star Wars, Star Trek, and everything in the Marvel Universe until someone tells me to shut up. And let me tell you, when you find your fandom–at Comic Con for instance–no one will tell you to shut up. (BTW I refer to all of my fandom craziness as research, because Comic Con, Twitter, and Instagram are great places to discover new characters and story lines. And also, Downton Abbey.)

Where was I? Oh yes. The number one geektastic gem I loved before it became cool was the fairytale genre. I’ve been obsessed with fairytales since I was a little girl. I poured over my armload of picture books long before I could read them. No amount of teasing from my six brothers could have convinced me to do otherwise. (Or stopped me from wearing my necklaces on my head like a tiara.)

By the time fairytale retellings like Cinder, Once Upon A Time, and Into the Woods hit bookstores and small and big screens alike, I was doing my happy dance! It was like the world inside of me had finally wriggled its way into reality. All of that early exposure to fairytales (thanks mom!) made them near and dear to my heart. And, like little plantlings do, that love began to blossom and produce my own fairytale retellings faster than I could keep up with them. So, here I am in my late 30s, as dorky as ever and still talking about princesses, stable boys, and happily ever afters. Geek Girl Extraordinare. #NotEvenSorry.

From one dorky, 30-something who wears tiaras and writes fairytales, here is my best advice for awesome nerds everywhere: Don’t get caught up in the I’m-all-alone-nobody-understands-me nonsense. So you’re different. So you like weird things. You’re not alone. There is an amazing group of people who love the same crazy things you do and they’re just waiting for you to come out of the woodwork.

You might ask, “What happens if I don’t fit in?”

Make your own group. Write your own story. Someone out there is waiting to hear your message. They want to know, just like you do that they’re not alone.

So, fly your geek flag high, my friends. Fly it high! Don’t worry, I’ll be right there with you.


Sarah can be found all over social media, at her website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest.

Her book, Becoming Beautyis available on Amazon:

image2

In this imaginative retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Bella is a spoiled brat who’s sent to the Beast’s country manor as punishment for her selfishness. More than just their personalities clash! As Bella improves the Beast’s manners, she also finds herself changing for the better. Bella must choose whether to follow the path she’s always dreamed of—or risk it all for something even greater.

 

3 thoughts on “Passionate Geeks: Fly Your Geek Flag!”

  1. I always feel self-conscious when I realise I got too carried away with my fan girlish ways, but this is so right, Getting excited over something is nothing to be ashamed of. Great advice at the end there too.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I get carried away too easily and then I worry that I’ve bored or irritated the people around me, but I guess that’s just who I am; take it or leave it.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

