If We Were Having Coffee… Am I rambling?

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!


If we were having coffee I’d offer up some homemade chocolate lattes — I made a few when my cousin was in town last weekend and, since I’ve got the materials, it’s cheaper than meeting up at a coffee shop.  I’ve been trying to save money for a while now (not very successfully) but now I’m buckling down and really trying to make it happen.  There’s just too much that needs to be saved for, you know?

I’d sip my espresso (I’ve learned to like it just a little watered down, and am also trying to cut the calories) and make some comment about how this whole adult-thing is hard sometimes.  See, it would be easier to save if what I was saving for were just things I want, like season tickets to the touring Broadway season (excited about a number of the touring shows and really excited about some of the season options.  My birthday plans include going to see Book of Mormon… if I can get tickets), or getting a new laptop.

But highest on my list of things I need to save for is a PAP machine. I did a sleep study a while ago and the results came back that I have mild sleep apnea. I do not look forward to adjusting to using one of those things but try to remind myself that it could make a huge difference for me.  It’s just hard to say no to the yummy seasonal coffee, or to pack my lunch again so that I can save up for something like that, you know?

If we were having coffee I’d tell you that this is my “relax and catch-up” weekend.  Well, it’s my relax and catch-up Saturday, I ended up scheduling myself pretty thoroughly on Sunday.  Last weekend’s visit with my cousin and her kids was great fun — and they made it safely home on Tuesday.  Now I’m gearing up for a visit from a friend of mine from Maine.  She arrives on Thursday and I’m taking a few days off of work so that we can hang out and take a few day trips.  It’ll be fun, and I promise to tell you all about it next week!

Of course, we couldn’t finish our coffee visit without giving an update on my writing/editing progress.  Today I’m dedicating a lot of time to writing (well, and cleaning.  Some of this cleaning really just needs to happen.  That darned adulting thing again…).  I have some blog-work that needs to be done, as well as a few guest-post that really should have been written already! There are Passionate Geek posts to get ready for posting, and other possible contributors to check in with.  At the moment I’m in pretty good shape for posts, and have a number more that have expressed interest. I’d tell you it feels pretty awesome to have so many people floating around who are interested in this and I am seriously debating upping it to a twice-a-month feature.  I want to move cautiously there — too much, too fast, can be problematic.

Part of the reason some of the blogging work has fallen behind is because I have been in full-fledged editing mode.  The past two weeks (since I finished that first revision) have seen every spare moment dedicated to reading through the manuscript and making hefty notes.  I’m trying to look at larger, structural, issues in this round — making sure the story flows, that there is consistency, and that everything makes sense — but I’ve also been doing a lot of circling of words, sentences and paragraphs that will need work, with margin comments like “meh,” “ugh,” and “gah.”  Some of those changes may be made when I sit down with the computer file again, some may just be noted and wait to see if the scene they’re in even remains in the story.  It’s been nice to sit down with an actual paper-copy of the manuscript for this, easier to flip back and forth between scenes and make reference notes to other things.  It’s the first time I’ve done this kind of editing (on fiction… I’m definitely using editing tactics I learned through all my academic work) and it is awesome to be enjoying it!  I actually like the story more with some of the changes I’m noting and figure that’s a very good thing!  I’ve got about one quarter of the manuscript left to go through before I can start looking at what comes next.  First up probably will be creating a few more timelines (to iron out when certain things happen), deciding on a few names, nailing down geography and certain governmental structures, and doing a tad bit of research into a few things.  Then I can start actually writing some of these revisions!

I discovered I could edit all sorts of places.  On my lunch breaks (of course) but also during the commute, when there was standing room only, when I managed to snag a seat, when I was waiting for the connection....
I discovered I could edit all sorts of places. On my lunch breaks (of course) but also during the commute, when there was standing room only, when I managed to snag a seat, when I was waiting for the connection….

And…. I’m probably just rambling at you now… it happens when I’m excited about something, sorry about that!  Tell me, what have you been up to this week?  Are there any projects you’re working on?  Any vacations planned or guests coming to visit?

 

16 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Am I rambling?”

  1. Sounds like the book is going really well. This is my least favorite stage of writing. It’s when I start thinking of making HUGE structural changes. Changes I tend to regret later on. I have to put up notes up that say things like: “Do not freak out” and “Save everything” because I make mistakes when I get cut crazy. Good luck with the next round of revisions. : )

    Like

    1. “Do not freak out” sounds like a good one! I’m reminding myself that the plot is going to stay the same — luckily most of the changes I’m spotting involve adding things or just fixing up mistakes in plot-order. Still, making sure I keep a PDF version of the first revision, just in-case something gets cut that I want to change later 🙂
      Thanks!

      Like

  2. Glad the revisions are moving along!

    And I know what you mean about saving—right now we’re saving up for a few car repairs that we need to make, but that’s not nearly as fun as saving up for a vacation or something!

    Like

  3. No worries, I’m the queen of rambling… Usually non-sensical BS usually a result of nervousness. Believe it or not I’m terrible when it comes to talking to people and tend to get chatty.

    Like

    1. That is a VERY good question…. How have you not? Actually, I’m not sure how many places actually make them – since they usually just make mocha’s but… this was steamed chocolate milk 🙂

      Like

      1. The fact that I have never had one of these is making me extremely sad right now. I’ve never even HEARD of these. I would drink these every flippin day in the fall…

        Like

        1. I have the espresso maker, the milk, and the chocolate. If you were, you know, coming to school out here I could totally make you one ;p Really I’m not sure I’ve seen one anywhere else but, when the materials are on hand…. 🙂

          Like

What do you think?

