If We Were Having Coffee… On the Go

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!


If we were having coffee it would have to be on the go this week.  My cousin and her son’s are visiting from New England this week and we have packed the weekend.  Today I was out and about (in the hot hot heat) all day with them showing them some bits and pieces of the city.  We spent most of the day wandering through Saturday Market, which was fun but a lot of people.  I have pictures which I’ll have to share another time (I also do share some of them over on Instagram).

I’d tell you that I’ve also been spending every free moment this week editing.  The first revision I did of the novel gave me a heads-up that there were some structural issues I wanted to deal with.  So I printed out a copy and have been making my way through, marking it up and making notes.  Some of the notes are wording-level changes that I want to make, but I’m trying to focus primarily on structure.  Though I’d wanted to have a second revision done by the end of the month I’m not so sure that’s going to happen with all the stuff happening this month.

I’d also tell you that I’m extending Taliana’s story slightly.  I was going to end it Sunday, but I don’t envision I’m going to have the time/energy to get the final segment written by the end of Sunday.  Participation this round has been seriously lacking, and I know some of that is because I just haven’t been able to put the energy into promoting it that I did for the last ones.  I know there is one contribution that might come together before the end of the day tomorrow but…. if not I am going to try to finish off her story arc.  I had fun writing her story over the year, and the challenge of incorporating other people’s stories was fun but I think that she’ll be taking a break after this story-arc concludes.  It’s a lot of work and takes a lot of energy that I just don’t always have!

If we were having coffee I’d say that I wanted to talk more, about my thoughts and plans for the blog in the coming year, about my writing progress and things going on in my life but, really, I’m exhausted and probably should go home and take a nap soon.  But first I do want to hear what you’ve been up to, what you’re going to be doing with the rest of the weekend.

7 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… On the Go”

  1. I was out downtown yesterday (Saturday) and again early this morning. I took my grandson to the Rose Garden. We were there at about 8:15 this morning! Drove around downtown and then headed back home. If I had known you were out and about, I would have tried to meet up with you.

    Like

    1. We were pretty slammed. I am so not used to the energy needed to deal with heat, crowds, a 7 month old, 7 year old and 15 year old!
      I bet the Rose Garden was lovely! Especially early. Getting an early start is proving a challenge with this crowd…
      We need to meet up at some point though!

      Like

      1. Yup, we need to meet up. I met Sabina yesterday! When I get back from my California trip we will have to work on getting together before weather is a factor!

        Like

  2. What a week! Glad you got some revision done. I’ve been working on cleaning up the office and the blog this week, and I’m off this afternoon to read some Fried Green Tomatoes. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

