I’m still kind of amazed at this!

I couldn’t wait until Friday’s “Celebrate” post… I thought I could but…. Apparently I can’t.

Though, for many this probably isn’t news anymore since I’ve been fairly screaming it from the social-media rooftops.

Saturday afternoon, while sitting at a coffee shop with my writing buddy in the afternoon I realized just how close I was to the end of the revision I’d been working on… and I thought that maybe, just maybe, I could finish it off.

I wrote and wrote and wrote.  Then I bought the groceries that had to be purchased and drove home.  Dropping perishables in the fridge I hurried to my computer to keep working.  Forgetting all about dinner, or anything else I wrote and edited for about 4 hours straight and then…

Saturday night, after what ended up being about a 7-hour writing/editing day I finished my first full revision of the novel I’m working on!  (The novel that still, very much, needs a title…)

There is a lot of work still to do, including another (very focused) revision that I hope to have done by the end of the month, but this was a huge milestone for me.

fbyay

 

This is the piece I’ve been focusing on since I decided that maybe I would take my writing out of the “hobby/pastime” category and really put in the hard work to do something with it.   This is the first time I have pushed through when the writing was boring, been willing to revise, and been ready to step in yet again.  And, can I just say, it was amazing to hit that point of being done with the revision!  I had no idea how thrilled I would be!

Hopefully I can get these other revisions done by the end of the month so I can give this to the very first readers to see what they think!

Today the next round of revisions began... taking to a printed copy this time!
Today the next round of revisions began… taking to a printed copy this time!
15 thoughts on “I’m still kind of amazed at this!”

    1. Yes.. I thought that maybe by tweeting it I would ensure that I would push myself to get it done. And it worked! Seriously, twitter has become my most unexpectedly helpful author tool…

      Like

What do you think?

