If We Were Having Coffee… Churches, History, Friends and Writing ALL AT ONCE!

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!


If we were having coffee today I’d tell you that it’s been a busy and productive week.  I’ve made some awesome progress on my novel and, actually, might seem a bit more tired than normal.  Which, for me, is saying a lot.  I’ve been re-reading old writing this week.  Staying up far later than I should as I find myself drawn into the story and then facing that terrible moment when I want to find out what happens next and… there is nothing.

The worst part of that is that there is no one to blame but myself, because I wrote it and didn’t finish it.  It makes me want to go back to these stories, to work on them and flesh them out and find the story they are really trying to tell.  Which I can’t do, not yet.  Not until I finish a draft of this story and have it in the hands of readers. While the first round of readers have it I can play and dabble on as many stories as I want.  Then, when I have revised it with their feedback and send it out to the second round of beta-readers… then I start narrowing down my writing to figure out which story I’ll work on next.  That’s the plan.  And to get to that plan, I need to get this draft squared away.

So the late-night story-ready has led to a renewed effort of editing and writing.  This week, writing during my lunch-breaks and a little bit after work, I’ve managed over 11,000 words written/revised.  At the moment I have two scenes that I need to jump back to and write/revise… maybe.  I’m going to get to the end, see where it stands, and decide if those scenes are necessary.

If we were having coffee I’d also tell you that I had a fun social-encounter earlier this week.  Although my co-workers seem to think I’m a social person I really tend to hang out with a handful of friends that I’ve known forever and spend a lot of time at my computer.  But this week Sabina (from Victim to Charm) invited me to join her at the Willamette Writers monthly meeting.  We’d been talking about meeting up at some point, while we were both in the same city and all, so it was cool to finally do so!  The talk at the meeting was interesting as well, and I am hoping that I’ll get my act together to reflect on it some more soon.

It was very cool to get to meet a blogging friend!  Though, I realized we forgot to take the requisite Selfie.  Hmm.. guess we’ll have to get together again.

The Old Church, which is where the meeting was held, was gorgeous.  The part of me (big part of me) that is drawn to church architecture was in awe.  I could have spent hours just roaming around that place, looking at the structure, admiring the stained glass, imagining the lives of those who had passed through the building.  It reminds me that I should make an effort during some of my lunch breaks to go and wander through some of the local churches that have their doors open.  Inspiration seeking.

I spent much of the talk admiring the pipe organ at the front of the sanctuary.
I spent much of the talk admiring the pipe organ at the front of the sanctuary.

I’d also tell you how excited I am to have won the most recent prize in Nerd In The Brain’s summer reading program!  This is the THIRD THING I remember winning in my life. (I won a face-paint set at a grocery store coloring contest, I won a stole in a fundraising raffle in seminary).  Yes… I never win things.. but I won a really cool bag!  I promise pictures once I get it.

I’d also tell you, with an energy and excitement that may make you roll your eyes, laugh, and call me a geek (kindly, of course), that I got a new book!  I was so happy when it showed up Thursday.  It’s a history text by an author I read extensively while I was working on my Master’s Thesis.  I stumbled on it when I was looking for some information that might help inspire my understanding of the governmental structure for my novel — and I spent my morning commute on Friday was spent reading through the first few pages slowly, making margin notes, checking footnotes, and jotting down ideas that might work well.  It’s really cool!

How about you?  What have you been up to this week?  Anything exciting?  Any projects you’re working on?

10 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Churches, History, Friends and Writing ALL AT ONCE!”

  1. How lovely to meet up with a blogging friend. There’s a group meeting here in the UK in August and I’m really looking forward to it. Congratulations on winning the prize for the Summer Reading Program, that’s so great. Have a lovely weekend 🙂

    Like

  2. Meeting up with a fellow blogger, that’s definitely great! I hope you girls had a wonderful time. 😉
    I recently started working on a story, I try to write bits and pieces here and there. Today I finally managed to map out my thoughts to not get too lost 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    Like

  3. You two are lucky to share the same hometown. The one sad part about making blogging friends is they’re usually thousands of miles away! I think forgetting to take the required selfie is a great thing. I means you had too much fun talking.
    Good luck with the writing, it sounds like it’s really coming along. : )

    Like

  4. I’m glad you and Sabina got together. How fun!

    I know how reading old writng can take you back. It can make you feel great about what you wrote or about how far you’ve come, and it can make you feel bad.that you didn’t finish or that you didn’t do anything with the piece of writing other than let it sit. I was just looking at some old blog posts for a comment on another blog and I felt sad that I haven’t done anything with some of my writing…and it’s even finished, just sitting there, unread.

    Like

  5. I’m glad someone else is a bit of a church architecture nerd! haha. My family are always poking at me because I love to take random trips to churches around the UK! Glad you had a nice time 🙂

    Like

  6. What a week! Sounds like a fun meeting with Sabina, and a productive if slightly frustrating week of writing/thinking/editing. Hope this week is a bit more restful but has just as many bright spots. 🙂

    Like

  7. Congratulations in the novel progress. I love looking round churches and old buildings. People normally think I’m a bit strange when I talk about cool architecture, glad I’ve met someone else who gets it. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! I have always loved cool architecture, and know a little bit about it (enough to admire and ramble about it!) It’s so nice to find other’s who appreciate the same kind of thing (rather than getting bored because you have stood staring at the ceiling for 20 minutes)…

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

