#LazyLambs Book Club: A Dirty Job, by Christopher Moore

The Lazy Lambs Book Club has completed it’s second book!  AND we actually managed to read it by our deadline! Yay!

We read A Dirty Job, by Christopher Moore.

33456

I really enjoyed this book, but struggled with the question I wanted to ask, and how to ask it… what I finally settled on was this:  What do you make of the fact that the more unique characters (such as the emperor) are able to see things that most people can’t?

I think I mean “understand” or “grasp” when I say “see” in this question. The Emperor, for instance, is a homeless man who talks to his dogs and considers them his soldiers, and he takes all that Asher tells him in stride. My thoughts on this are still percolating, but it ties to the concept of people on the margins sometimes being more open to the unusual. In a world where what we see is not all there is, being able to approach the world differently allows you to see things and accept things that others might miss.
A jumble of thoughts still, so I wonder if that makes sense….

Hannah asked “What do you think of the Alpha Male/Beta Male construction in the book, and how it’s used?

This is a piece of the book I really struggled with. While I understood what Moore was doing with it (I think) I found it chaffing against my general rejection of setting anything up in a two-sided system. I don’t like pretending that the world can be sorted into simple categories. It gave pieces of the story the sense of being outside the story, analyzing human nature using overly simplistic terms. There were certainly moments when the characteristics being described were ones I could understand and equate with people I know, but that could have been done without the alpha/beta setup.
Diana’s question is one of my favorite, she asked “What do you think your soul object would be, and why would it be that particular object?

This is actually really hard to figure out.  My first instinct is that it would be a book… but as I think more I’m wondering if, perhaps, it 20150627_002349_001wouldn’t be a particular stack of papers.  The first novels I wrote — four of them grouped together in a folder.  These are the first complete novels I wrote (well, Cassie was unfinished, I think). These are the stories that planted the first seeds in my mind that I could, maybe, someday, be an author. I poured myself into these and, despite the fact that only one of them has any merit whatsoever, I have carried them with me through the years.  It seems like, if my soul was going to end up contained in anything, it might be this stack of handwritten papers.


Want to join the discussion?  Have you been reading along with us?  Feel free to share your questions in the comment, and link your post with answers to the link-list!  Gather up as many questions as you’d like — from the comments here and on Diana and Hannah‘s posts.  The Link-list will be open to be added to through July 4th!

6 thoughts on “#LazyLambs Book Club: A Dirty Job, by Christopher Moore”

  1. My first thought would be my own fiction too, but I don’t have anthing tangible to represent that where I’d put my soul. 😀 That’s so cool you still have your paper copies.

    I also agree about the alpha/beta descriptions distancing the reader from the story. Like someone was describing the characters’ actions in those terms from the outside, simplifying what was really happening. I wonder if that distancing effect was the intent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had tried to think of something I’ve hung onto and dragged around with me, and those manuscripts are the thing I could think of…. I digitized a lot of my early writing, but those four I just couldn’t bring myself to part with the originals.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love Diana’s question, but it’s extremely tough. I don’t have one object that I connect with so strongly that it would be my “soul object”–maybe my camera, or an old journal.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

