Celebrate the Small Things: Friends and Community

Celebrate the Small Things

Today is Celebrate the Small Things Friday.  Hosted by Lexa Cain, L.G. Keltner of Writing Off the Edge, and Tonja Drecker of Kidbits, Celebrate the Small Things is a time when we all take a moment to celebrate something good from our week.  It can be small, it can be big, just something to look back on the week and celebrate!


Today I am celebrating good friends, good energy, and fellowship.
I’ll talk more about this during weekend coffee share tommorow, but this week is the Unitarian Universalist General Assembly, which is being held here in Portland this year. I’ve been attending small pieces of it, enjoying time with a friend who is in town for it, seeing all sorts of friendly faces and checking in with people I’ve met through the years. Last night I attended a worship service that honors people reaching milestones as religious professionals (the service is availible to view online if you’re interested). I found it a powerful and moving service, and LOVED the music. It is great to be able to be somewhere like that, where there is so much energy in the air. Exhaustion was the only thing that kept me from staying up late putting that energy into writing. It was inspiring and I am looking forward to some time this weekend to put into turning that inspiration into writing.
That is what I celebrate today! What are you celebrating this week?

EDIT: an ammendment to my celebration. The Supreme Court of the United States just affirmed marriage equality! It’s the law! Not such a small thing, but certainly worth celebrating!
 

11 thoughts on “Celebrate the Small Things: Friends and Community”

  1. Am so glad you were around such positive energy! Nothing is better, truly.
    And yes, the HUGE news that will change millions of lives here in the USA, and hopefully inspire other countries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is amazing to be around positive energy — though also overwhelming. I have to remind myself to pay attention to how I’m feeling…
      And yes, I’m so excited for the ruling, such amazing news!

      Like

  2. My mother used to work for a Unitarian church (she was the organist) and they were such nice people. When we moved and she worked for other churches, I never like them as much. Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great service! All that energy 🙂 (watched the video :D) And yes, I too am celebrating the Equal Marriage ruling. What a glorious day 😀 Have a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Supreme Court decision is huge and definitely worth celebrating! I have some friends who can get married now if they so choose, and I couldn’t be more happy for them!

    Like

What do you think?

