If We Were Having Coffee… Sleep Studies and Projects

If we were having coffee I would invite you to join me in my FINALLY organized space.  We’ll have to pretend it’s bigger though, because it really is just one small room… I have a little sitting space, but it’s more a reading nook that a space for more than one person to sit  –I am playing with ways to change this layout, I’d love to be able to actually have people over for coffee, but for now hanging out at my place would kind of like hanging out in a friends dorm-room back in college days.  But, I have coffee!

After showing off the organization (look, see how all my books are about to be organized?  And I have two desks, one for the computer and one to spread out on!) I’d want to tell you all about how tired I am.

Seriously, I think last night was one of my worst nights for sleeping in a very long time.  I was doing an at-home sleep-study, so had this machine strapped to myself, with cords and wires all over the place.  Have you ever done a sleep study?  It was so hard to get comfortable with that thing on – and I kept waking up because something was on my face (reassured myself it was simply the things that were supposed to be there and was able to go back to sleep).  When I finally woke up around 5:30 and saw that the machine (theoretically) had gathered all the information it needed, I took it off and settled in for a few more hours of dozing.  But tired, so tired.

Despite the one night inconvenience (and the ridiculous co-pay) I’m really excited about this.  I’ve been struggling with some serious energy issues for almost a decade now.  I don’t talk about it much here, and I have managed it pretty well, but it is hard to have to so carefully watch everything I do, to plan ahead so much for the week so I can do all my cooking on the weekend, things like that.  I’ve managed it, and found some things that help a lot (like not eating wheat, that’s a huge help), but without insurance for most of those 10 years I haven’t been able to do a LOT of work to figure out what’s wrong, and what I was able to do cost me an awful lot of money.

So it’s exciting to have insurance. To be working with a doctor who is helping to explore all sorts of possibilities.  Ruling out (or in) sleep apnea is the step we’re on now and it’s really neat to imagine that perhaps I’ll be able to wake up not feeling exhausted.  I have a pretty strong feeling that, if I do have sleep apnea it isn’t going to solve all the problems, but, just like stopping eating wheat made a large difference, it does an amazing amount of good to be able to chip even a little bit away from the problem.

Thanks for letting me vent and ramble a bit about that – it’s been one of the things looming in my life lately, and certainly shaping how today is (because, damn, that machine is uncomfortable to sleep in!  Ugh, if I need a CPAP I know I’ll adjust to it but…. Ugh…).

It’s been a slow week for writing – though I am making some progress on projects!  I’m looking forward to the first guest-post for Passionate Geeks, which will hopefully be going up the second Wednesday in June!  Depending on things that first post may have to be mine, with the guest post in July, but we’re hoping it’s going to be ready to go up for June!  I have loved the conversations I’ve had with people around this project, and how many of you are excited about it!  Even if only half of those who have expressed interest end up writing posts, it is going to be Legendary! (Yes… I just started re-watching How I Met Your Mother, if you want to put the proper enunciation on that…).

And I feel like I’ve been talking forever… I’ll have more updates later, about the novel, about work, about life, but for now it’s your turn.  If we were having coffee, what would you want to share?


Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend. A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in!

7 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Sleep Studies and Projects”

  1. Hey Ali, I hope that things work out for you and you figure out your energy issues. It can be a real bummer when you feel tired all the time. Glad you found a good doc that will work with you. Looking forward to hearing about the novel. Have a great week.

    Like

  2. I so hope that your lack of energy mystery is solved soon!

    Congrats on the organization and Passionate Geeks! (Am I allowed to be passionately geeky about education? Is that a thing?) 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes you are! And yes it is!! And Yes, I would love if you wrote about it 😉
      Thanks! It would be amazing to get to the bottom of this.. my life has been so shaped by the energy mystery that it would be awesome to find some answers!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really hope the sleep study has some answers for you…some specifics that can be addressed. I’m having trouble getting to sleep before 5 am these days but I don’t have to be anywhere at any given time so it’s okay if I sleep from 5 until 9. That’s plenty for me. But I know how awful it is to have to do a full day’s work and the long commute you have and have to do it while sleep deprived. I remember those days from long ago.

    Like

  4. I would share some homemade treats to go with our coffee 😀 And a big empathetic hug for your lack of energy. I, too, struggled for years with poor energy and finally started getting some answer about a year and a half ago. I’m still finding answers (food, sleep, exercise related) and I’m really rooting for you as find yours, Allison ❤

    Like

  5. I haven’t done a sleep study, but I can empathize…Ugh. Hope there’s enough information for them to help you out some.

    I feel like I’m finally coming alive a bit after being a bit lethargic all winter and most of spring. I’m enjoying the daylight being around more, and that helps me sooooo much with having enough energy.

    Like

What do you think?

