If We We’re Having Coffee… Long Weekend!

If we were having coffee I would be tired. So tired. You see it’s been a long week, with lots going on. Friday was a LOOONG day… and I plan to spend the weekend recovering, resting and writing.
I’d invite you to join me in the ongoing saga of “Allison’s Adventures in Coffee.”  This week I bought a new toy from my favorite coffee cart (Ole Latte!).  I feel like my ability to make (and appreciate) coffee has grown in the past years.  I got a single-cup coffee maker ages ago and it served me decently well for a long time, but this Christmas I got to up the ante with home-brewed coffee when I received an espresso machine as a present.  It works great for weekend coffee, or when I am making my coffee for my morning commute.  But, there was still this issue of finishing my coffee before I got to work and it only being 8 am.  Clearly, I needed more coffee.

And so… I present you the newest attempt at solving this problem!

20150523_094414 - Copy

Drip-Drop! Which, yes, is now it’s name.  I brought it home for the weekend so I can learn how to make it work best, but the plan is that Drip-Drop (Drippy, for short) will live at work.  Along with a small tea-pot (have to figure out which one still, I think something may have to be purchased), thus increasing my ability for a mid-morning coffee without having to go down to the cart to buy one pre-made.  They’ll still provide the coffee grounds, of course, but hopefully this will help in my plans of cutting back my coffee-spending!

That’s my news this week… I am very excited about Drippy, and the possibility of fresh-brewed coffee RIGHT AT MY DESK!

I would probably also mention how excited I am about Passionate Geeks.  I registered a hashtag for it and everything (#PassionateGeeks)!  So far I’ve had a lot of people express interest in writing for it, and am hoping that the interest does translate into actual writing.  It’s so nice to have found something that other people seem to be as excited about as I am!

And, now that I’ve got some of this coffee in me and am starting to wake up, I’d tell you I’ve been reading for the #LazyLambs Book Club.  We’re reading “A Dirty Job” by Christopher Moore this round (plan is to be done by June 27th if anyone wants to join in!) It’s a fun read and I’m really enjoying some of the characters so far.

I’d also tell you that I’m making good progress on Bria Lana – my novel.  It’s really rough still, and I’m having to do a fair amount of writing in this revision.  It’s part of an ongoing process of learning about my own writing style, what works, what doesn’t.  It’s pretty cool to be figuring it out!

How about you?  How are you doing?  How has your week been?


 

Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend! A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in time.

6 thoughts on “If We We’re Having Coffee… Long Weekend!”

  1. I like Drippy. That’s what I use at home. I have different sizes of the plastic ones and my daughter got me one of the glass ones for Christmas. It helps me cut down on coffee drinking because I brew only the one cup at a time. Otherwise, I would drink the whole 12 cups that my coffeemaker brews!

    Like

  2. I lucked out and ended up at an office with a Keurig and a regular coffee maker, so I can get my caffeine fix fairly easily. Drippy looks like a great solution though. 🙂

    Glad you’re enjoying A Dirty Job! I’m just about to start my re-read.

    Like

  3. Hi Allison! Glad you’re pleased with your new coffee solution and enjoying a relaxing weekend of reading and writing. Very much what I have going on over here. Enjoying it immensely! 🙂 Shelah

    Like

What do you think?

