Find a mentor and supporter. Be a mentor and supporter.

Today would have been Grandma’s 92nd Birthday.

I dedicate today’s post to her.

10628236_10152626897901068_1432362446268020817_nGrandma was a newspaper-woman. I knew this from a young age, it was a part of her identity. She wasn’t just Grandma; she was Grandma, a newspaper-woman who was a voracious reader. She is the one I have to thank for the gift of books that helped launch me into being the reader that I am (not to mention the ongoing gift of Powells-money for Christmas many many years)

While we didn’t talk a lot about writing, not directly, but that doesn’t keep me from holding her as one of my writing role-models. Sometimes I would send her copies of my stories.  She read them all, commented on them, told me she saw promise.  She said I was a good writer, and when I was young that kind of encouragement was very helpful.  Grandma was not a free-hand with the compliments so when she said things like that I knew that I could take her words at face value.

I think it’s so important to find people in your life that will be honest with you about your art.  Who know the craft enough that they can be honest about it.  I was very lucky to have a grandma who could be one of those people for me.

She wrote an autobiography, various reflections and articles. We’d talked a few times about her thoughts of writing about women in the Bible. She traveled, she wrote, she raised four children, she lived her life.

Today is the day for an Insecure Writers Support Group post… and originally I was going to write something else, but my heart leads me to write this.  And I have learned the importance of following where the heart leads — particularly in writing.

I feel like today I want to be drawing inspiration from Grandma — I want to continue to use her as a role-model for how I can be, not just as a writer but as a person.  Live your life. Dream your dreams.  Follow your heart.

Find someone who will be a honest supporter. And perhaps try to find a way to be one for someone else.


 

This is my monthly post as part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, a IWSG badgegreat group of supportive writers, helping one another through our writing ups-and-downs.
There is also a great Facebook Community for more daily connection!  More posts from the group are tagged on Twitter at #IWSG. 

We also put out a new book, available for free.  Check it out for great articles on topics from writing to publishing, everything in-between and beyond

15 thoughts on “Find a mentor and supporter. Be a mentor and supporter.”

  1. My gran is the encouraging one as well. While my sister drew pictures she sat down with me and taught me how to write and later made me write short stories. Even now, she keeps all my published articles and even though my novel was fanfic and is not for sale, she’s the one pushing me towards a writing career!

    She’s going blind now, and she gifted me all her books as she knows I’ll read them.

    Like

  2. Aw! This touched me. My grandmother passed 2 years ago at 92. She was also a huge inspiration to me. She kept her mind sharp until the end, through two strokes and ailing physical health. Even in the nursing home she taught her friends to play cards and did crosswords and read books. She hated just sitting in front of the TV unless she was “doing” something–even at 92!

    I’m glad your grandmother was such an inspiration too.

    Like

  3. It’s nice to know that your grandmother encouraged you. I’m sure that she’s happy that you continue to pursue what you love to do. And it’s nice that you keep her in your heart, and gain inspiration from her.

    Like

  4. It would be truly great to have someone that would tell me when something is not right, support if there is a chance that something might turn into good… sigh 🙂

    Like

  5. Lovely tribute, EA! And an important message in your post: “Live your life. Dream your dreams. Follow your heart.” You were fortunate to have your special Grandma in your life for so long!

    Like

  6. I think honesty is the best policy. Today some think a child who earns a high grade should not be praised for it, but I think it is important we still value the work of our top students. I am not saying we neglect the other students, but what if their is a young person who has talented promise as a writer, and a teacher is only worried about those struggling in the class. This is one reason I always thought smaller classes were better. I think four kids to one teacher would be best. Think of all the amazing history, writing, science, and math projects such a small group could do.

    Like

    1. Yes… in schools I’m all for smaller classes. And I think it’s important to have mentors outside of school as well. Adult writers need these kind of supports (and honesty) in their life as much as kids do.

      Like

What do you think?

