Top Ten Tuesday: Books I probably will never read

Every week The Broke and the Bookish  hosts the “Top Ten Tuesdays” a great blog-hop for readers to reflect on their “Top Ten”

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books I will probably never read.

This was a hard one for me to think about.  My general rule is that I will try any book.  Hand it to me, and I’ll give it a go (eventually).  But, I thought long and hard about some that I probably will never actually read (unless someone does shove it in my hands and tell me I must read it).

1 – 3) Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, and Fifty Shades Freed by E. L. James.

I know some people loved these books.  And I know some people hated them.  I know that people have very strong opinions for and against these books, as well as excellent arguments about why other books should garner attention.  I’ve heard a lot of conversation about them and there is a part of me that has thought I should give them a read just so I can form my own opinion about the issues but… the reality is I’m not likely to actually get to them.  Issues that come up around this book are things that I can discuss divorced from the book itself.  And I can continue to note that, while the books don’t particularly interest me, and I lean towards the side of them being problematic from what I’ve heard, people who do read and enjoy them should not be shamed in ANY WAY.  That’s the beauty of books — we can all read and enjoy different things for different reasons and it’s all okay. (I know that at least one of my friends read and enjoyed the books — however, apparently none of my Goodreads friends have).

4- 7) Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn, by Stephenie Meyer.

I kind of adore that when I look at my friends reviews of Twilight I see that they run the gamut of one-to-five stars.  These books just don’t seem like my thing.  I thought about reading them for a while (especially when I was working with the tween-to-teen girl population), but it just doesn’t interest me.  Not at all.

8) Ulysses, by James Joyce

I.. just… no.

9) Moby Dick, by Herman Melville .

I just don’t really want to read this.  But this is one I could see myself giving in on, in the interest of being able to say I had read it (well, and seeing that a number of my friends gave it 5 stars, and included some good reviews… I guess move it to the “maybe, eventually, list”).

10)… I can’t think of a tenth… and realized that looking around at the books in my room is probably not a good way to figure out what #10 would be!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I probably will never read”

  1. This is such a good list. I have to agree. 1-7 just don’t make me excited to read them at all, and I get pretty excited about books.

    Like

    1. I just don’t have the patience for 8. I realized somewhere in college that the only reason I might read it is to say I had… and bragging rights didn’t seem a good enough reason when there’s so much more I WANT to read!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

