Writing, and other Ways of Telling Tales

WWriting is my personal preferred method for telling story’s.  I like being able to commit my story to the page, have the chance to organize my thoughts (and take my time to think about just what I want to say).  Occasionally I relish the opportunity to search for just the right words to say what I am trying to say though, in the interest of full disclosure, sometimes I agonize over the fact that the English language will not convey what I want it to.  Those times when the words come out perfect on the first try, when a phrase develops just perfectly, are precious.  One of the things that makes me sad is when I think of a perfect phrasing but have nowhere to write it down and, inevitably, end up forgetting it.

This month has pretty much highlighted the Telling of Tales in written form here on Eclectic Alli, but there are so many other ways of of Tale-Telling that deserve to be explored.

Verbal Storytelling:  There are stories that have been handed from person to person in verbal form, often changing and shifting with each new telling.  There are grand literary examples of such stories that have since been written down – such as old mythology, folk-lore, and legends.  But we also practice a form of this throughout our lives.  Stories told late at night during sleepovers, or around the campfire.  Or, think of those times when you see a friend or loved one that you haven’t seen in a long time, I know within my circles there is often an amount of time that goes towards the retelling of our time together, “Remember when….?”   We pass down stories of events that we have experienced, stories intended to scare or inspire.  We share these stories without them ever having to be put onto the page.

Theatrical Arts:  Actors, dancers, playwrights, lighting-designers, sound-techs, directors, set-designers, all come together to convey a story to an audience.  These stories are also often put into writing in some way, in the form of a script or choreographers notes.

Music: Ballads, of course, tell a story, but so do most other musical creations.  The lyrics will often tell a story, but so do the notes of the song, the choice of instruments, and the musicians interpretation.

Visual Arts: Paintings, drawings, carvings, sculpture, they all tell their own tales.  Often, in one still scene an artist is able to convey a full story — leaving enough clues for the view to fill in the blanks.

 

I’m sure there are many, many more that I am not thinking of.  While writing is my preferred method to tell tales I am a fan of them all.  Though I’m not terribly skilled as a teller in all these other forms I like to surround myself by them, absorbing storytelling in whatever ways I can.

What are your favorite ways of Telling Tales?

12 thoughts on “Writing, and other Ways of Telling Tales”

    1. Reading and interpreting the artifacts of the past certainly are ways of finding the stories of the past! And I LOVE the addition of geology to the list… it certainly tells us amazing stories of the world! 🙂

      Like

      1. Ditto on geology. Every time I travel through a cave I am reading a geological story, of how the rocks became what and where they are, and a hydrological story, of the how the water a rocks interacted. Abandoned passages are the footprints of water that once was there.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve been writing and drawing to tell stories since I was four years old. I’m not going to pretend I’m some grand master artist, but I think the simple, cartoon-like figures I’ve always drawn are suited to the types of stories I use them in, and the types of pictures I draw independent of prose. It also lets people use more imagination about what these people truly look like, since they’re not depicted as super-lifelike.

    Like

  2. I’ve been thinking about this since last night, pondering other kinds of storytelling… loved the geology one above. I’ve settled on fashion to add to the mix, though. We tell a story about ourselves through the clothes we wear. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

