If We Were Having Coffee – Reading and Writing along!

If we were having coffee, I’d be honest with you that I’m kind of happy it’s just virtual coffee.  I’m a little peopled-out this week.  You know, one of those moments where I kind of just want to curl up and not do anything, and certainly not interact with people very much.  Virtual interaction is okay, but actual talking… not so much.

I’d tell you that I’ve really been enjoying the A to Z Challenge, and especially pleased with how supportive everyone has been.  It’s great to be able to give some of the young story-tellers in my life a chance to tell their stories to a larger audience, and to know that people are going to be supportive of their efforts.  I’ve enjoyed telling my own stories – writing shorts has been fun – but I’ve really loved getting to share these kids stories with everyone. (Again, thanks to Josh, Adel, Isabelle and Jenny — and their parents!)

I’d also tell you that I’m supposed to be reading today.  On a complete last minute whim I joined the Dewey 14 Read-a-thon I vaguely recall seeing something about it last year, but this year I saw the information before the event (not even a full 24 hours before but… you know… before) and decided to jump in.  I’m certainly not going to read the entire 24 hours, there is too much writing that needs to be done, but I hope to get at least some reading done.  I’ve been picking my way through a few books, getting a few paragraphs read here or there when I am not brain-dead during my commute, so I want to try to make some good progress on them.

If we were having coffee I’d also tell you that I’m excited about some plans for post-April.  Most of my ideas have been just brewing in the back of my head, but I’m putting out some tentative feelers on them and hope to make them a reality.  I’m looking forward to having more guest posters on this blog, and to do some guest posting of my own!

I’d also tell you that I’m making some good progress on my novel.  It needs a title, it really does, but for now I’ll just call it Bria Lana, since that’s what the file is saved as (it’s the Main Character’s name).  This is a story I started years and years ago, then finished a draft of during NaNoWriMo 2014.  I’ve been needing to put the scenes in order for ages, but life kept interrupting and I wasn’t making any progress. 20150414_125516 I bought myself a cute little Alice In Wonderland themed Moleskin to use in helping keep some notes in, which helped to provide me that final incentive – I spent this money, now I need to put it to good use.  It seems to have done the trick, because I have a rough outline of scenes as well as some character notes about a few of the characters that had been kind of elusive before.

The book is currently divided into five rough sections.  So I’m currently trying to put the first section in clear order, making sure the scenes all make sense, figuring out any glaring continuity errors (such that come from a scene being moved earlier than it was originally written, or after a scene that no longer exists), and adding in scenes that need to finally be written.  My hope is that by the end of next month I’ll have a semi-functional draft of the entire thing which I will be able to print out, read through, and start some real editing before sending it along to a few friends for initial reads (before what will likely be another thorough revision).  Exhausting!!

That’s probably all I have in me today, so I’d be happy to hear what you have going on these days.  How have you been?  Any big projects that you’re making progress on, or that are stalling out?


Today’s post is a part of the Weekend Coffee Share, graciously hosted by Part Time Monster every weekend! A time for us to come together, share a cup of coffee (or our beverage of choice) to share some of what is going on in our lives.  It’s a lovely check-in time.

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – Reading and Writing along!”

  1. It seems Alice’s 150th birthday has spawned many Alice themed items. Beware the Little White Rabbit is just out. It’s an anthology that I contributed to, and I’ve enjoyed the excitement of its launch. Loved your little moleskin notebook. It’s charming.

    Like

  2. Hope you’ve made some more progress on both the reading and the writing! Sounds exciting about the book. I don’t think I have a book in me, but there are a lot of short stories winging about up there that I should write down. It’s finding the time to do it that’s the thing. Or perhaps I just need a fantastic little notebook! 😀

    Like

  3. remind me to show you my alice in wonderland scarf. Ive done the challenge before. ive popped in and read on a saturday or something. its really hard to stop what you’re doing and read. just kidding. its not hard at all as long as you dont eat, dont sleep and dont feed the yapping children.

    Like

What do you think?

