Top Ten Tuesday: Recently Added to my TBR

Every week The Broke and the Bookish  hosts the “Top Ten Tuesdays” a great blog-hop for readers to reflect on their “Top Ten”

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books recently added to my TBR (To Be Read) pile!

In the craziness of Taliana’s adventure, and prepping for A to Z, I had nearly forgotten that I wanted to participate in today’s Top Ten! Which is the reason this is going up so much later than normal.

This will be my last one until May (since I already have plenty of other posts going up in April… though I will admit, there was a few times where I debated finding ways to wrangle my Top Ten into the A to Z… I loved the ways I thought about doing it, but the reality of actually making them happen was going to be far too complicated. (But they were brilliant!  Brilliant, I tell you!)

Anyhow, the top ten books I’ve recently added to my “To Be Read” pile… really it’s a huge list of books, and I have trouble saying that there are a “Top Ten” so, really, it’s a few that I really want to get to, and then some random selection.

1) Imogene in New Orleans, by Hunter Murphy.

My friend Hannah, of “Things Matterinterviewed this author, and wrote a review of this book that intrigued me.  I think it will be a fun read!

2) Seven Last Words, by Terry Minchow-Proffitt

Another friend of mine, Rosemary over at The Round Earth’s Imagined Corners, wrote a review/recommendation on this one that caught my interest.  And I need to read more poetry (a personal goal of mine) so… yes, this one will have to be read!

3) To Say Nothing of the Dog, by Connie Willis

A number of recommendations for friends on this one over the years so… yes.. I WILL get to it soon.

4) Warm Bodies: A Novel, by Isaac Marion

And yet another book rec that has come from a number of friends… I really need to stop having bookish friends, they give so many recommendations!  On second though, no I don’t… I love their recommendations.

5) The Fourth Descendant, by Allison Maruska.

Another friend recommended this to me… actually, the author 🙂  I have enjoyed getting to collaborate with Allison on some writing for Taliana’s Spring Adventure, and really enjoyed reading an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) of one of her yet-to-be-published projects.  I’m looking forward to reading this one, have it set-up on my Kindle and everything.. just need to read it.

6) The Last Witchfinder: A Novel, by James Morrow

I don’t know who recommended this to me… when or where… but I know it has been recommended.  And I want to read it.

7) Flunked (Fairy Tale Reform School), by Jen Celonita

I saw this listed on someone’s top-ten-tuesday list a few weeks back.  I seem to have not made note of which blog, but… one of you participants in Top Ten Tuesday’s recommended it, and I wanna read it.  It was about that moment, as I was adding yet another book to the pile of great many book-recommendations, that I realized just what a dangerous little blog-hop this can be.

8) Cleansed Lepers, Cleansed Hearts: Purity and Healing in Luke-Acts, by Pamela Shellberg

This one will take a while, because I am going to demand a signed copy from the author.  Pam is an amazing writer, a brilliant teacher, and an all-around awesome person.  She was my New Testament instructor in seminary, and a co-conspirator of mine during some worship planning.  She has the soul of the poet, and I want to read this work of hers.  (Plus, I’m kind of sad I only got to take ONE semester of her class, and desperately want her to educate me more)

9) The Traitor’s Wife, by Allison Pataki

Another one of those “Someone suggested it in one of their Top Ten lists, but I can’t remember who…” books.

10) Love Is Like Ice Cream, by Joanne Nordling

I’ve known Joanne for ages, and my mom recently read this book and said it was good.  So now I want to give it a read too.  I really love reading books by people I know, especially when I didn’t know that they had books for me to read!

What do you think?

