Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books For Readers Who….

Every week The Broke and the Bookish  hosts the “Top Ten Tuesdays” a great blog-hop for readers to reflect on their “Top Ten”

toptentuesdayTop Ten Books for Readers who Love History!

I was sitting, trying and trying to figure out what kind of Top Ten I wanted to do.  My eyes were roaming around the room, the bookshelf above my desk, the one on the other wall, the ones at the foot of the bed… and then it jumped out of me.  Of course.  I could just snag a couple of the titles of books I liked from those shelves and I would have a great Top Ten list… for anyone interested in history.  Now just one particular era of history, but history in general.  Here’s a little eclectic sampling of some of the books I’ve enjoyed through the years (in no particular order).  These books stretch (some of) my educational interests over at least the past 20 years.

1) The Pleasures of the Imagination: English Culture in the EIghteenth Centure, by John Brewer

2) Constantine’s Sword: The Church and the Jews, A History , by James Carroll

3) The Gentleman’s Daughter: Women’s Lives in Georgian England, by Amanda Vickery

4) Undaunted Courage: The Pioneering First Mission to Explore America’s Wild Frontier, by Stephen E. Ambrose

5) King Leopold’s Ghost: A Story of Greed, Terror and Heroism in Colonial Africa, by  Adam Hochschild

6) A History of Finland, by Eino Jutikkala

7) Immigrant Women in the Land of Dollars: Life and Culture on the Lower East Side 1890-1925, by Elizabeth Ewen

8) A Solider Under Three Flags: The Exploits of Special Forces’ Captain Larry A. Thorne, by H.A. Gill III, and Larry A. Thorne

9) The Travail of Religious Liberty, by Roland H. Bainton  (Bainton is downright prolific… this is just one of the books he’s done that I would suggest if you are interested in Christian religious history!)

10) Beyond Belief:  The American Press and the Coming of the Holocaust, 1933-1945.  By Deborah E. Lipstadt

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books For Readers Who….”

    1. It’s a good one… though, I kind of have to still FINISH it… read it for my Intro to Judaism class.. but only had two weeks to read it, while doing the other class reading (we each took on one book to read and report on), and my summer camping trip (yay for summer intensives?) so… have a little to finish off still.

      Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’ve been having fun taking a look at my shelves and figuring out what to share. Of course, making things harder on myself by trying to not duplicate books too often on these lists!

      Like

    1. To be fair, some of these are pretty obscure and specialized. Used as texts for my undergrad classes, or discovered in my crazy researching to find texts on various topics for my undergrad and grad thesis… A few (Constantine’s Sword, and King Leopold’s Ghost are the two that come to mind, perhaps Undaunted Courage as well) have been more in the popular culture, but some of them are pretty obscure, even for history buffs (I’m looking at you, History of Finland…) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

