Top Ten Tuesday: Book Problems

Every week The Broke and the Bookish  hosts the “Top Ten Tuesdays”.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Book Related Problems I have.

1) I have lost count.  You see, a few years back I bought a Kindle, thinking it would help me cut down on the books I own. [Pause for laughter].  Which means that, in addition to the great many books I have around my living space, that I can see and count (if I really wanted to), I also have a bunch more that I can’t see.  Hidden away in a little electronic container, or adrift in the air.  And then there are the books I have on Google-Books… it becomes a real challenge to remember what all I have.

2) I have a few… or more… duplicate copies.  This is also, in part, due to the purchase of the Kindle.  It’s gotten better over the years, especially since Amazon began to let me know if I have already purchased that book, but somehow it still happens.

3) So many comments and jokes about using the library.  Really, so many.  Yes… yes I love the library too — but with my spurts of reading and then not being able to get into the book, I would never get through half the books before they would have to go back.  And some books, some just need to be here, availible for me to read when I want them, without having to go through the extra trouble to get to the library.

4) Which leads to the problem that, sometimes I’m just not in the mood to read.  I know it’s horrible.  I love books always, but sometimes I just don’t want to read.  Not sure why, but there it is.  My deep dark secret.

5) The book to space ratio in my room is unfavorable.  And I have yet to figure out how to bend time and space in order to create an alternate room where it is simply books, with none of this other stuff.  Nor have I figured out how to fashion furniture out of my books in a way that maintains the integrity and readability of the book.

6) The “To Be Read” list.  And the, “Might be interesting to read” list, and the “someone recommended it to me” list, and the “I really SHOULD read this but don’t really feel like it” list, and the “I want to read this again” list…. all of them are too long to possibly ever be gotten through.

7) Books are stories permanently on the page.  Sometimes the story does not go how I think the story should go, and I can’t really fix it.  Why can’t the story go how I want it to go?  This has been an eternal question of mine, since I was little.  It means much time over the years has been spent in daydreaming the story with the proper ending.  It’s one of the reasons I started writing myself.

8) Though I have the kindle, and carry hundreds of books around with me everywhere I go, sometimes the one book I want to read on my way home from work is on my shelf at home.

9) I have books about books. Book about addiction to collecting, books about the history of books.  I sometimes fear that I will one day acquire a book about the collection of books about books.  It is all very meta.

10) I love my books — both the story’s that they contain and the physical book itself.  I love the smell of them, and the feel of them in my hands.  So really, all these problems with books, they are not problems… just necessary realities relating to one of those things I love.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Problems”

  1. This one: “3) So many comments and jokes about using the library. Really, so many. Yes… yes I love the library too — but with my spurts of reading and then not being able to get into the book, I would never get through half the books before they would have to go back. And some books, some just need to be here, availible for me to read when I want them, without having to go through the extra trouble to get to the library.”

    YES SAME HERE.

    Like

  2. Now I have two kindles AND a stack of paper books. I keep one kindle downstairs and one upstairs. I can grab either one quickly and get in a few minutes of reading during the day. It helps but I’m still behind in my reading.

    Like

    1. Hmm… my space is pretty much my room and then the kitchen (I don’t really use the communal spaces of the house I share very much) so one kindle serves me well enough 🙂 Two would seem like such a luxury!

      Like

  3. I hear you! And…you totally reminded me I still need to hand in my winter reading list to the local library. For which they are giving out…(wait for it)…free paperback books. Between the shelves of books I still haven’t read and the moments of sheer ohmigosh I remember getting those five books on the kindle last month which I forgot about by the next day, yes…I definitely hear you. It’s like the books have grown AND diversified their army and now they are everywhere. O.O

    Like

  4. Books about books? That is a bit funny. I lost count. I keep a list of all the ones that are coming out soon so I can keep up on the TBR pile, it is still a bit out of hand though. When I am not in the mood to read I find another book, or I switch to listening to the book on my kindle. I use text to speech, which I sounds terrible but I have become used to the drone female that reads to me.

    Like

    1. I counted… at least 4 books about books — They’re kinda fun to explore 🙂
      I had a count of books when I moved about two years ago — because I needed to spreadsheet out what I had in order to keep track of what had shipped (and in-case something got lost… I lost a big box in a previous move and am still recovering some 7 years later, because I didn’t have the inventory). Now I don’t know what the count is….
      Never have been able to really listen to a book — I’ll listen to musicals, but audio-books are too much like a lecture and just don’t fit my learning style. Though it has been some time since I’ve tried so I may give it another go.

      Like

What do you think?

