Joint Statement from Museum Bloggers and Colleagues on Ferguson and Related Events

Things like this remind me of part of why I have been so interested in continuing with higher education in museum studies.
Yes, I want to research and publish historical-stuff. I’d be quite happy to bury my nose in old documents for ever and ever. But, I also find such depth and richness in questions around the role of museums in their communities, and the challenges that face museums in the 21st century (both questions I also find intriguing in regards to churches and religion… seeing many similarities between the two institutions. Anyhow…).
How can (and do) museums play a role in current social-issues? How can we present inclusive and honest narratives about the past? I feel that this statement is a great example of the ways that museums can take part in larger community dialogues, and the importance of doing so.

the incluseum

BLM-text-logo1-1024x116

A couple weeks ago, a group of museum and arts bloggers (including Incluseumers) got together digitally to draft a joint statement urging U.S. museums to respond to events like those that recently took place in Ferguson and beyond. At this time of escalating outcry about police brutality and unnecessary use of force targeting black people, many asked: Are we at a turning point for discussions about race in the U.S.? And by extension, a turning point in our museums that desire to function as a forum and be relevant to local communities? In the week that followed, these bloggers released the statement on their respective platforms; it’s our turn to do so here.

For our contribution to the collective action of posting the joint statement, we have invited some friends who are bloggers and occasional contributors to the Incluseum to join us in raising critical questions sparked by the statement and…

View original post 1,967 more words

5 thoughts on “Joint Statement from Museum Bloggers and Colleagues on Ferguson and Related Events”

    1. Yay – congrats on getting it out, those applications are HARD!
      I’ve taken a few public history classes, it seems like a good way to apply my interest in history, but at the moment I’m uncertain if more schooling is really what I want to be doing right now. Trying to decide if I actually go into the program I was accepted to (and deferred this year) come fall, or if I’m going to let it go and focus on my writing… I’ve got a little more time before financial aid forms need to be completed…

      Like

      1. Thanks! I can relate, I know I want to go but I don’t know when or where. Right now it depends on the answer from First Choice U.

        It’s definitely a big commitment, and people keep telling me “You can always go to grad school later,” so that’s what I’m telling you. 🙂

        Like

What do you think?

