If We Were Having Coffee #18

If we were having coffee I would probably be a bit bleary eyed. It was a long week, on top of working with my grief, it was also finals week.  I’m not in school just now, but I work in an academic testing center.  And I think I have decided that the only things worse than having to take finals is dealing with stressed instructors, and students.  Worse than that, dealing with the large amount of greatly stressed individuals when you are not sleeping well.

One of the nice things this week has been that reminder, once again, that I have friends who are looking out for me.  Good friends who check in (even if they live far far away), and who were some of the first people I contacted after Grandma died.  The simple texts, emails, and messages of  “Thinking of you,”  “I’m here if you need anything,” and “How are you?” all helped me a lot.

Things are starting to gear up for Christmas, today I’m going out with my mom to get a tree.  Christmas decorations are going up around the house, which means I am getting to see some of those things that I made as a child.  Decorations that have been taken out year after year.  It’s kind of fun to have those things that are the same year after year for as long as I can remember.  So much else has changed, but I can always count on the fact there will be some decorations that appear every year.  This will be the first “normal” Christmas I have spent with my family in years.  I lived so far away, for so long, that coming back here just wasn’t feasible.  Last year I was out here, but my sister got married just a few days before Christmas and so we were away to the wedding until Christmas Eve.

I’d also probably tell you that I’ve had a hard time getting back to my writing.  I gave myself the first week of December as a week off, since I realized I had pushed myself a bit for NaNo, and deserved a short break.  But then this past week I had trouble getting my brain around anything, so writing didn’t happen.  I’m now, officially, two weeks behind my schedule — with holidays and celebrations, and friends back in town.  So this week I’m going to try to focus, starting with some free-writing. Free-writing, followed by more writing for Disparate Threads, and some work on the webpage for it.  I need to get back into the groove of regular work, wish me luck!

How are you doing this week?

2 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee #18”

  1. I’m sorry for your loss. It can be tough, but it does sound like things are going better. Christmas gets me. I love giving. I love the goofy TV shows. I’m always excited this time of year too. And I know writing can be tough too. When I need to start up again, I read a writing manual. For some reason I’m always inspired by the advice. Crazy, huh?

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    Like

    1. That actually makes a lot of sense, maybe it’s time to give one of the writing manuals I picked up a read — or re-read one of the ones I know I like. I think I also need to break free of this habit I’ve gotten into of watching shows online.. it distracts me from what I need (and WANT!) to be doing!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

