Liebester Award!

liebsterblogaward-small1Hannah Givens, of the most-excellent blog “Things Matter: History, Pop-Cultur and a sci-fi novel” Nominated me for a Liebster Award!
Okay, I know that I’ve said in the past that I’ve said that I find a lot of these blog awards to be the blog-version of a chain letter but… here’s the truth.

I was that kid who always wanted to get a chain letter — back in the day when they were actually handwritten letters, that were either handed to you or (even cooler) put in your mailbox alongside all that important looking mail that your parents got.   Because a chain letter meant that someone thought you were worth sending the letter along to.  Sure, I then faced the challenge of figuring out which people to send it to (thank goodness for cousins that lived far away), but the fun of writing the letter, getting stamps from where Mom kept them on her desk, and putting them in the mail….

Now that I get all that same kind of “important looking” mail that my parents got (well, for the few things that still send out paper bills) I can honestly say I would love to get a chain letter again.  And a blog-chain-letter is just as good.  It means that another blogger likes my writing, likes what I have to say, and thinks I am worth of the award.

Because, yes, inside I am still that unsure kid who wonders if people actually listen to what I put out into the world.  And getting one of these awards is…well… you know this scene from Rudolph:

Imagine that kind of feeling.  “They like me!!!  They gave me an aaaawwwaaarrrrddd!!!”

Ahem, anyhow.

There are questions for me to answer, and other bloggers for me to nominate!

Why did you decide to blog in the first place?

It seemed like a good idea at the time?
I honestly can’t entirely recall.  I had a lot of friends with a lot of blogs (and yes, I mean friends who had a single blog, and some friends who are, or have been, serial blog-writers — they’ll pick one up and then drop it again… sometimes exhausting to keep up with!)  When I started Eclectic Alli, I know I wanted to have a place where I could share things that I was doing, thinking, and feeling.  I do know I spent a lot of time trying to figure out the proper title for the blog, For the first few years my posts were…sporadic, at best.  Seriously, go check out the archives before April 2014… it’s kind of impressive…..

Name three of your pastimes or hobbies.

1) Writing.  Okay, why does that now feel like a cheat to list? But it’s true!  I love my writing, I like when I am writing fiction, or nonfiction.  Heck, I’ve even enjoyed writing the manual about how to do my job…. I am, honestly, a lost cause.

2) Cello and Ballet.   I put these two together as one because both are things I love, and still like to claim as pastimes and hobbies, but the last time I actually sat down with my cello was probably about a year ago (and it is currently in-accessibly stored) and I know I haven’t been able to do any ballet in over a year thanks to my foot-injury (plantar fasciitis… seriously, the gift that keeps giving?).  It’s not like I was ever particularly GOOD at either of them (I have never had a ballet-body and am beginning to wonder if I may be slightly tone-deaf…. )  but when I danced I felts like I was transcending this world.  I could fly!  And when I sit with the cello I feel deeply rooted, connected to something grand and magical.

3) Friends.  Anything with friends.  I am not a hugely social person (despite having somehow gained the reputation of being the planner and organizer in some groups) but I love when I get to spend time with my friends.  The friends I tend to spend time with, the ones that I have remained connected to over the years, are ones that I connect with on a deeper level.  Yes, we can be silly together, but we can also be serious.  They are the ones who I don’t have to explain things to — not things like my family, or my past, because they know them and understand them, and more importantly, know me and (somehow, at least a little) understand me.  It makes it that much harder to live far away from some of them (and really what was I thinking, living in Oregon, Vermont, and Maine… then with their own drift-patterns… I am NEVER in the same place as all my friends).

If you could interview anyone (dead or alive), who would it be and why?

I always hate this question…it’s so challenging!  There are SO many people!!  But, right now, I think I’d like to transcend language barriers (because I can do that if I’m interviewing dead people) and ask Sebastian Castellio a few questions.  One a thesis topic gets its claws into you, it doesn’t like to let go!

Top on my questions are for him to tell me what he really thought of John Calvin.  Also, was Castellio an anti-trinitarian, or was that just a good point to prove his argument?  I would love to have him share with me some of his early poetry, and to just generally discuss theological thought and his understanding of the “certain” matters in the bible.

Yes… I have sat back over the past few years and daydreamed of this great conversation, a convergence of my theological- and historical-geekiness with my passion and interest in religious tolerance and understanding.  Why do you ask?

Do you have any pets? If not, what would you consider getting?

I currently don’t have any pets.  Not of my own at least — my living situation is too in flux and semi-nomadic to sustain having a pet.  But, occasionally there is a small dog in one of the houses I stay at.  And when I am at the other house there are three small dogs.  I like to pretend they are cats, and sometimes they oblige by playing the part.

Someday I would like to get a cat.  Someday… when I have a place where the litter-box can have it’s very own location, far from me.

What is your favorite movie and why?

Do I have-ta pick one?  There are a great number I like… some of which I have seen more times than I really care to admit.  My absolute all-time favorites, I guess, would include an animated version of Little Woman that I last saw on Beta when I was…young…. I loved it, of course, I haven’t seen it for decades, but… I know that I loved that version.  I have clear memories of being allowed into my parents bedroom to watch it on the Beta-player, sitting on the floor with my back against the foot of their bed, enjoying the peace and quiet of watching a show all-to-myself with no interruptions.

I also adore a French version of Les Miserables (which I have on VHS) that I still contend is the best interpretation of the book to screen.  It tells the story, but it also tells the “spirit” of the story — reaching beyond the book to some of the points that I think Hugo was trying to make in the first place.

What is your favorite comic book and why? (If you don’t read comics, just name a favorite book).

I don’t have a current favorite (not sure why not…  I should remedy that).  Growing up my favorite was Archie’s… I loved those suckers.  But, having read one (or…two..or..more..) of them in more recent years I was kind of appalled.  How did I like them?  How did I not want to throw them across the room at some of the stupidity and stereotyping that happened in them?  Though, I still forever have a soft spot in my heart for Jugghead.

What is your favorite Youtube channel?

Youtube has…channels?  No, I knew that they did but… I try to keep my distraction forces to a minimum.  I have plenty of guilty-pleasure shows I watch on Hulu, and Netflix (mostly movies), without adding the depths of Youtube… Though, I will sometimes get lost just wandering from video to video – mostly music or musicals…

If you could cosplay as any character, who would it be and why?

I… uhm… am not sure.  Really, can’t think of one.  I feel like I should have one.  Quick, someone give me a character!  The one requirement is that a pretty dress must be involved.  Because, I like pretty dresses.

What is your favorite topic to write about?

Again, do I haveta pick one?  I have really enjoyed writing Fantasy, getting into world-building and fun things like that.  But I also (honestly) love when I get to dig my teeth into some serious academic writing.  I guess my favorite topic is history.  The stories that are contained within history are fascinating, and there is so much that we can learn from them — even if the reality of the person living that story is worlds away from our own reality.  And, I guess, in a way, the fantasy stories I write are a history of SOMEWHERE so..yeah, I win.  History.

What’s your favorite fandom?

I’m a little odd with the fandom’s.  One of the strange things about fandom is that they come with their own terminology, and I’m always afraid of using it wrong.  For instance, even though my Firefly and Serenity fandom has resulted in me watching the shows and movie a number of times, and reading the comic books… can I call myself a browncoat?  I mean, does repeated viewing and following the actors on twitter and getting a variety of inside jokes qualify me for that?

I also have my own little “fandoms” — if they can be called that.  Musicals, for instance (though, there are some limits) are something I have, uhm, been a little obsessive over at times.  (Luckily, my friends have helped me feel better about the fact that I have the complete scores of a number of them committed to memory….).

Yeah.. I’m going to have a hard time identifying just one — I’m kinda Eclectic….

And my five nominees…
Ack… I am absolutely horribly terrible at nominating people for these.  So, the chain does not end here, but– if you are reading this (and leave a comment below so I can visit the post) consider yourself nominated!

5 thoughts on “Liebester Award!”

  1. I love reading responses to blogging awards. It sounds silly, I know but the random details are fun. I haven’t had much time to keep up with my own blog lately, but I try to pop in on some of my favorite bloggers when I can 😉 I particularly love the comment about the cat litter box needing a space of its own! Lol. I had to give up a perfectly good walk in closet in my apartment!

    Like

    1. The random responses is one of my favorite things about the blogging awards as well — it’s fun to see what random things people come up with.
      Glad to see you around the blogs at least a little bit! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

