Celebrate the Small Things 5

Friday!  And Friday is a day to Celebrate the Small Stuff.

vik-small-things-2

It’s been a strange little week for me (plan to share more “over coffee” this weekend), but for today….

Three days ago a most excellent and amazing friend of mine challenged me on Facebook to name 3 things I am grateful for, each day for 3 days.   I was a bit grumpy when she challenged me (sorry about that, you know I love you), but it’s been a good little exercise.
Thought those would be good to share for my Small-Things Celebration today (though they are not all terribly small).

Day 1:

1) That I have awesome friends, who drag me out, force me to try new things, and sometimes even convince me to have irresponsible moments. You know who you are, and yes, I am grateful.
2) That I have awesome friends who give me good feedback and support when I do things that are frightening to me. Who encourage me and help me feel okay(ish) when I take risks of various sorts.
3) That I have awesome friends that will call me on it when I am in the wrong in some way (especially in ways that allow me to fix it), because I know that they care enough about me that they can say it like it is — even when I can’t necessarily see it like it is.

Day 2:

1) A job where my strengths are recognized, encouraged and put to use.
2) Living in a city that encourages the arts and tries to provide free opportunities for people to engage with the arts.
3) The well-rounded, and sometimes very diversified, education I have been able to pursue and receive.

Day 3:

1) Healthy days, and that I have learned to listen to my body and know when I have pushed too much and am moving towards having not-so-healthy days so I can take care of myself and prevent a crash.
2) The beauty that surrounds me.  I have been so fortunate to be surrounded by beauty in the places I have lived during my life, natural beauty and man-made beauty.
3) That I am able to provide love and support for my friends.  That I have been able to be someone that they know they can go to when there is trouble in their life, or when they need an ear or shoulder. That, though I may sometimes not hear from someone for a while, may not know the details of everyday life, when something major happens my friends know that I am there for them.  And to know that they are there for me.  To have had the opportunity to create such deep bonds… I am so grateful, every day.


 

This is a blog-hop!  Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 thoughts on “Celebrate the Small Things 5”

    1. Indeed! It was good to have a friend (did I mention my awesome friends.. I think I may have said something about them.. somewhere) force me to step back and realize these wonderful people and things in my life. I needed it this week!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I got roped into doing the facebook thing too! For some reason, I like taking a weekly inventory of gratitude for the Celebrate Small Things blog hop way better. Sounds like you’re a super friend in return!

    Like

    1. I did the first two days on Facebook but… I like rolling into this Blog Hop — it felt a bit different than just posting into the Facebook news-scroll where things get lost.
      I try to be a good friend! When I do get the chance to be a friend, a true and good friend, it helps me feel better — It reminds me that, while I may not have huge amounts of friends to pull together for parties and the like, I have plenty of true and deep friendship — which is truly what matters.

      Like

  2. Great celebrations! Awesome friends are definitley a thing to celebrate. Like you, I probably can’t fill a party either with the number of my friends but knowing that you’ll always be there for each other is what matters.

    Like

What do you think?

