The Classics Spin!

I’m participating in the Classics Club’s “Classics Spin” this week.

It’s kind of like a game, I list a bunch of books (following certain criteria) from my Classics List, and post them here. ย A number will be chosen on August 11th, and the book I have on that number I have to read by October 6th.

As good a way as any to pick another one of the books on my list that I’m going to read in August/September ๐Ÿ™‚

So, here is my list, of books I really want to read, books I’m kinda dreading, books I’m fairly neutral about, and a few others thrown in for good measure. ย In no particular order.

  1. A Prayer for Owen Meany โ€“ John Irving
  2. Don Quixotie โ€“ Miguel de Cervantes
  3. Watership Down โ€“ Richard Adams
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird โ€“ Harper Lee
  5. The Bell Jar โ€“ Sylvia Plath
  6. O Pioneers! โ€“ Willa Cather
  7. The Jungle โ€“ Upton SInclair
  8. Dandelion Wine โ€“ Ray Bradbury
  9. The House of the Seven Gables โ€“ Nathaniel Hawthorne
  10. Little Woman โ€“ Louisa May Alcott
  11. Charlotte Temple โ€“ Susanna Rowson
  12. A Little Princess โ€“ Frances Hodgson Burnett
  13. Little Men โ€“ Louisa May Alcott
  14. Their Eyes Were Watching God โ€“ Zora Neale Hurston
  15. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthurโ€™s Court โ€“ Mark Twain
  16. The Poisonwood Bible โ€“ Barbara Kingsolver
  17. The World According to Garp โ€“ John Irving
  18. The Little Prince โ€“ Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  19. Tale of Two Cities โ€“ Charles Dickens
  20. ย Persuasion โ€“ Jane Austen

[Edit: ย And the number chosen is 17. ย The World According to Garp it will be….]

13 thoughts on “The Classics Spin!”

  1. Great list! Do you have one that you’re particularly dreading?
    I’m kind of liking The Bell Jar, or The Jungle. I have no idea why. These are books that I wouldn’t normally choose. Perhaps it’s because I’m on vacation and I’m relaxed and therefore, much more open-minded. ๐Ÿ˜‰ In any case, I hope you enjoy your spin choice!
    Happy reading!

    Like

    1. The Jungle is actually one of the ones I’m kind of dreading… I read it for a class back in college, and remember having a bit of a hard time getting through it… and Don Quixote — it’s one of those books I WANT to read, but have never gotten past the first few pages because the writing took me a bit to get into the flow of.
      I read the Bell Jar back in High School, and remember finding it really interesting, so I’m kind of excited to re-read it now that I’m a fair amount older and probably will relate to the story in a very different way.

      Like

  2. Wonderful list! I just read To Kill a Mockingbird, and it is now one of my all-time favorite books. Cervantes does take some time to get used to, but once your past the first few pages, it gets better and better. Enjoy your spin book.

    Like

    1. To Kill a Mockingbird is another one of those ones I read ages ago (middle school! A friend of mine wrote a song about it that still occasionally passes through my mind) that I’ve been meaning to read again ๐Ÿ™‚
      I figure I’ll be able to get into Cervantes, I’ve been able to manage Hugo so, I should be able to handle Cervantes… I just need a little push!

      Like

  3. I liked this post a great deal. I’m an avid and varied reader. At present, I’m reading E.M. Forster’s book, ‘A Passage to India,’ also a classic.

    Thanks for following me – it has given me an opportunity to explore your blog – and become a follower. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

What do you think?

