Character Blog Hop

Such fun!  I have been invited to participate in a Character Blog hop (check out the lovely Raevenly Write’s original post).  I really had to give a lot of thought to who I would highlight here…. Part of me wanted to share one of the characters from Disparate Threads, but I also don’t want to give anything away!  So I have decided to share a bit about the story/character who is currently looking like my most likely contender to be getting my attention next.


1)  What is the name of your character?  Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

Bria Lana.  She is fictional, at least, I think so.  One of those characters that took a while to appear, but when she did she wanted to make sure I heard her story loud and clear.  And with characters like her I sometimes wonder if they aren’t actually real, just dwelling in some land that I cannot see.

2) When and Where is the story set?

I don’t actually have a name for the place yet, I don’t believe.  It will have a name, eventually.  I just… have a hard time coming up with names for places (and sometimes characters).

At first it was a stand-alone place, but in the past year-or-so I’ve realized that it is a story that takes place in one of the Realms (like Disparate Threads).   There will certainly be some overlap, connections between the way things work in Bria Lana’s world, and the way they work in other Realms.  But I do know that her realm is not one of the ones overseen by the Horizon Lands.

How’s that for a referential response?  Short(ish) explanations of some of the things like Realms, and Horizon Lands, are listed on the Guide to Terms page.

A shorter answer — she spends time in a city, and all around the country (and perhaps the world) that she lives in.  Also, some in a dungeon.  It’s a more historical-feeling setting, but not tied to a specific era in our real-world history.

3) What should we know about him/her?

She is a lively, energetic young woman, who also happens to be quite powerful.   She is the baby of the family, with an older sister and an older brother.  Her brother travels all around the world, and her sister married well and lives in a big house with a loving husband and two awesome and adorable kids.  Bria Lana stays with her sister sometimes, but travels a lot herself.

She has some training in magic, but also an innate ability to access, and handle, a very rare power.   Also, without her magic, she would not have lived past childhood.  It literally saved her life (and wont easily let her forget it).

4) What is the main conflict?  What messes up his/her life?

Well, that previously mentioned training in magic… yeah, that was all carried out in secret.  Because where Bria Lana lives, magic is bad, and evil and should not be used by anyone, for anything.  Magic users are held to be the source of all that is wrong in the world, and are actively hunted down to be imprisoned and killed.  And Bria Lana isn’t just some ordinary magic user so… she’s got a bit of a problem.

As for what messes up her life, there is this one, particular moment that really starts her on her path in a more urgent manner, much sooner than she had intended.

5) What is the personal goal of the character?

To survive.  Seriously, that would be nice.  To be able to settle down on the old family farm, live out a nice, long, boring life, growing old surrounded by her loved ones and dying quietly of old age.  It’s the small things, you know?

Beyond that, she would rather like to change the standing views of magic and magic users — there was a time in the past when they were better understood, and she’d like to see a return of those times.  She wants her niece and nephew to be able to live in a world that isn’t as dangerous for them (because she has seen hint of ability in at least her niece).

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

Bria Lana…. Because I’m creative like that.   No, there isn’t really a working title yet… titles tend to be one of the last things I come up with.  I struggle with them almost as much as I struggle with endings.  (So, for those keeping track it goes: place/character names, titles, endings).

And at the moment this story has only a plotted out ending, one I have lived through in my mind a few times, but have not actually written yet.  It’s a fairly epic story, with many parts… and only the first segment drafted.

It has a postlude though!  Because… I also work in order… yeah….

7) When can we expect the book to be published?

Wouldn’t that be lovely?

I would love to get a manuscript written on this, and have a good chunk of the story already written.   But actual publications, I can’t say….  Nor can I say what form it would take.

Added bonus, though, writing this has gotten me excited about getting back to work on her story!


And I guess I’m supposed to tag people who I would like to hear from next.

But really, I’m not sure who to tag.  So instead I will beg you all to take a turn.  On your own blog (if you do post on your own blog, please, link the post in the comments!), or in a comment response, share with me a little about a character that you are currently working with, or one that you’ve had in the past that you adore, or even one that is brand new and just starting to take form.  I love hearing about other people’s characters and stories!  So please, share!

3 thoughts on “Character Blog Hop”

    1. Good luck with the fiction writing! I find it so rewarding, and challenging, one of those great things that makes you step back and be aware of how you approach the world, and how others do.
      I’ve been working on it for most of my life now… but really starting to buckle down and be serious about it for the first time (well, the first time in probably 16 years or so… I was pretty focused back when I was in high school).
      This character is one that I started a few years back, and really beginning to look forward to writing her again! Another summer project!

      Like

What do you think?

